Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sth Coast, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    send using button (2000 sr1)

    Hi everyone - help pls
    recently upgraded from W98 to W2K and had to format and reinstall all software inc Outlook.
    I use Word to create email due to autocorrect, etc.
    anyway, i previously had a 'Send Using' button on my toolbar. it included a pulldown menu that let me choose one of my multiple POP accounts to send the email thru.

    it seems a little thing but it's a great way to keep your privacy. Set up a Yahoo account and use their pop servers to send and recieve any web-wide email. if u get spammed just can the old address and get a new one. it keeps my business account clean

    Anyway I cant seem to get the Send Using button back!!

    I cant customise the toolbar in Word as it's linked to outlook. i tried taking out the 'use word' option but any customisations i make arent there when i reset the option.

    Any ideas out there.
    All donations accepted and greatly appreciated.
    Cheers
    NOBLEJOKER
    Sth Coast NSW Australia
    My Tech Help Site www.techhelpsite.com
    My Computer Club www.mulligrubs.miltonulladulla.com

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Quakertown, PA, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    517
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: send using button (2000 sr1)

    Did you set up more than one account yet? The option won't be there until you have more than one account set up to add from.

    When you go to Help-About Outlook, does it say CW or IMO? If CW, you need to reconfigure OL to be IMO. To my knowledge, you can't set up to have both options: to send from <exchange server account> and from <internet mail account>.

    So this depends what you're trying to do.

  3. #3
    Lounger Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sth Coast, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: send using button (2000 sr1)

    Thanks for the reply Dreamboat
    Yep to both ?s.
    I have 4 pop accounts configured and i am on IMO.
    The frustration is my config is exactly the same ( or so it seems) as prior to reinstall yet i cant get the button configured as it was before.
    Any thoughts??
    Thanks again for your input
    NOBLEJOKER
    Sth Coast NSW Australia
    My Tech Help Site www.techhelpsite.com
    My Computer Club www.mulligrubs.miltonulladulla.com

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: send using button (2000 sr1)

    are you using word as the email editor? the send using button is not on the toolbar.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: send using button (2000 sr1)

    If you are using Word as email editor, there is no "send using" button on the toolbar, but click the "options" button and you will get a dialog box with a "send message using" dropdown box.

    Fafner

  6. #6
    Lounger Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sth Coast, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: send using button (2000 sr1)

    Thanks to all who replied.
    I have solved my own problem.
    It is possible to get the send button with pull down menu of accounts to work.
    Here's how:
    You need to go to Outlook and set email editor to Outlook itself, that is, not Word.
    Then open a new message and customise the email toolbar to add the send with pulldown button.
    Save changes and check to see it works by opening a new message.
    Now go back and change to Word as your editor.
    It appears that the toolbar carries over from Outlook to Word.
    Voila! Thus even though this isnt a word option u still get to use it. I reccommend it to anyone that has multiple accounts.
    Thanks again for everyones offered help
    NOBLEJOKER
    Sth Coast NSW Australia
    My Tech Help Site www.techhelpsite.com
    My Computer Club www.mulligrubs.miltonulladulla.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •