Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I use my laptop (XP Home SP3) to run some fairly video intensive slide shows, and I want to disable as much as I can to maximise the ability to process this as fast as possible.

    I created a hardware profile deleting all the hardware (eg Ethernet, Wireless net, PCMCIA etc) that I don't want when running the slide shows. This has worked perfectly.

    However I still have other software, primarily Virus, & Firewall software running, (neither of which is now needed) much of it controlled by MSCONFIG. Whilst it is relatively easy to edit MSCONFIG and re-boot, it is a bit of a pain.

    Can anyone suggest any way to stop the various component parts of AVG & ZoneAlarm via some form of batch file or reg file. A batch file would be preferable, as I would not need to remember to re-set it afterwards as on a reboot, the correct MSCONFIG files would get loaded again since the default hardware profile includes all the network hardware.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='bonalymac' post='793872' date='18-Sep-2009 14:16']Can anyone suggest any way to stop the various component parts of AVG & ZoneAlarm via some form of batch file or reg file. A batch file would be preferable, as I would not need to remember to re-set it afterwards as on a reboot, the correct MSCONFIG files would get loaded again since the default hardware profile includes all the network hardware.[/quote]
    If you go to Task Manager's Processes tab, and you can {right-click on the appropriate process and do End Process} for each of the processes you want to terminate...
    ... then you could have a BATch file wherein you could do the equivalent TASKKILL (horrible syntax, though) or SysInternals' PSKILL for each process. ('Check out' the help information from each).

    The only advantage I could see you'd get would be from killing the AV component(s) - AVGRSX.EXE being a prime CPU-using culprit.

    Please note, of course, that Microsoft show no enthusiasm whatever for this method of terminating running processes - even though they make the tools available!

    LATER...
    Just remembered that you may need to list the tasks first using TASKLIST or PSLIST, find the PID for that process, then use TASKKILL or PSKILL to get rid of it. Takes a small bit of work with the FOR /F command!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='bonalymac' post='793872' date='18-Sep-2009 08:16']I use my laptop (XP Home SP3) to run some fairly video intensive slide shows, and I want to disable as much as I can to maximise the ability to process this as fast as possible.

    I created a hardware profile deleting all the hardware (eg Ethernet, Wireless net, PCMCIA etc) that I don't want when running the slide shows. This has worked perfectly.

    However I still have other software, primarily Virus, & Firewall software running, (neither of which is now needed) much of it controlled by MSCONFIG. Whilst it is relatively easy to edit MSCONFIG and re-boot, it is a bit of a pain.

    Can anyone suggest any way to stop the various component parts of AVG & ZoneAlarm via some form of batch file or reg file. A batch file would be preferable, as I would not need to remember to re-set it afterwards as on a reboot, the correct MSCONFIG files would get loaded again since the default hardware profile includes all the network hardware.[/quote]

    1.) While running in your nornmal user account, use regedit and copy the entries in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run that you don't want to start to HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run .
    2.) Delete the entries from the HKLM branch.
    3.) Create a new user account to use with the slide shows.
    4.) Boot into the new user account with your alternate hardware profile.

    NOTE: When you update AVG & ZA it is likely they will restore the HKLM registry keys so you'll have to check and probably delete them again.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi

    Thanks for both suggestions. I must admit I like the sound of the registry edit better. That seems an easy one to organise.

    I'll try it now.

    System restore point first however

    Thanks


    Colin

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just tried the Registry edit, and it seems to work perfectly

    I don't pretend to understand the registry at all, but I have a very basic and (very dangerous) knowledge of editing it.

    So I exported the relevant entries, changed the paths to HKCU and saved it as a .reg file so I can re-apply it after updates.

    Great help guys.

    Thanks a million. I'd never have got this on my own.


    Colin

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='bonalymac' post='794015' date='19-Sep-2009 12:23']I exported the relevant entries, changed the paths to HKCU and saved it as a .reg file so I can re-apply it after updates.[/quote]
    This will add the HKCU entries to the registry, but it won't delete the HKLM entries, so you will still have to do some manual registry edits.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='StuartR' post='794018' date='19-Sep-2009 13:21']This will add the HKCU entries to the registry, but it won't delete the HKLM entries, so you will still have to do some manual registry edits.[/quote]


    THanks Stuart. I will need to remember that. I had not thought about that bit of it. I copied the instructions and the reg file into OneNote to keep, but forgot all about removing the entries in HKLM.

    Once again, thanks

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='bonalymac' post='794048' date='19-Sep-2009 10:07']THanks Stuart. I will need to remember that. I had not thought about that bit of it. I copied the instructions and the reg file into OneNote to keep, but forgot all about removing the entries in HKLM.

    Once again, thanks[/quote]

    In the registry the settings in the HKLM section are machine level (i.e. apply to all users). The settings in HKCU apply to the current logged on user.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='794195' date='21-Sep-2009 04:17']In the registry the settings in the HKLM section are machine level (i.e. apply to all users). The settings in HKCU apply to the current logged on user.

    Joe[/quote]


    Thanks for this added clarification. but i'm a bit puzzled why you added it. Have I misunderstood an earlier stage in the process?


    Colin

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='bonalymac' post='794235' date='21-Sep-2009 04:39']Thanks for this added clarification. but i'm a bit puzzled why you added it. Have I misunderstood an earlier stage in the process?[/quote]

    I don't think you misunderstood. Earlier you had posted you that you don't understand the registry so I just added this to add to your knowledge base. Perhaps, I muddied the waters instead.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •