Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Autoruns Online

  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    I just came across a link on this page to run Autoruns online with no installation required. Thought it would be useful as a diagnostic tool without having to install something that might change a system's configurations.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='794026' date='19-Sep-2009 14:09']I just came across a link on this page to run Autoruns online with no installation required. Thought it would be useful as a diagnostic tool without having to install something that might change a system's configurations.[/quote]
    Worth adding that v9.54 came out on Friday 18 September!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Also worth noting is that Autoruns is s simple .exe file that requires no installation.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='794026' date='19-Sep-2009 06:09']I just came across a link on this page to run Autoruns online with no installation required.[/quote]
    I think I might not be getting the full functionality in Firefox: I get a standard Save/Cancel dialog when I click the "run" link.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='794064' date='19-Sep-2009 13:23']I think I might not be getting the full functionality in Firefox: I get a standard Save/Cancel dialog when I click the "run" link.[/quote]
    Me too. But I did a "ho hum" because running it from the web isn't much of an advantage since it doesn't require installation even if you download it.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='794064' date='19-Sep-2009 13:23']I think I might not be getting the full functionality in Firefox: I get a standard Save/Cancel dialog when I click the "run" link.[/quote]
    Could it be that MS owns Systernals or is it just a strong business affiliation ?? The site prominently displays the Windows flag in it's title and might be setup to "work best" with IE.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Yes - Winternals, the company behind Sysinternals, was acquired by Microsoft in 2006, and the original Sysinternals website is now incorporated into Microsoft TechNet. Mark Russinovich and Bryce Cogswell, who founded Sysinternals, are now Microsoft employees.

    See Winternals on Wikipedia.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='794139' date='20-Sep-2009 09:26']Could it be that MS owns Systernals or is it just a strong business affiliation ?? The site prominently displays the Windows flag in it's title and might be setup to "work best" with IE.[/quote]
    Where did you go to see that flag? When I go to your link in the first post, it brings up TechNet:

    [attachment=85613:2009_09_20_104605.png] . . . (No MS "flag" in sight)

    BTW, even in IE8 I get the save or run dialogue which isn't much different than Fx.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    DowWatson's screenshot is from the Windows Sysinternals forums, I think (you can get there by clicking Community from the home page).

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='794064' date='19-Sep-2009 13:23']I think I might not be getting the full functionality in Firefox: I get a standard Save/Cancel dialog when I click the "run" link.[/quote]

    I think this is due to a difference between IE and FF. While IE gives you the option to 'Run' or 'Save' an executable file, FF only allows you to 'Save' it. An additional security feature (or annoyance), perhaps?
    Regards,
    PaulB

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='794026' date='19-Sep-2009 08:09']I just came across a link on this page to run Autoruns online with no installation required. Thought it would be useful as a diagnostic tool without having to install something that might change a system's configurations.[/quote]

    The first section at Windows Sysinternals: Documentation, downloads and additional resources is about online access to all Sysinternals utilities.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •