Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Does 3 mean 3

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi

    I have a copy of MSOffice Home and student it says it's licenced for three machines, Question if I load it on 3 PCc's and then a hard drive crashes will I still be able load it on the new drive or will Microsoft say you have already used your 3 licences.


    I asked the monkey but I don't know wether to believe him.


    Braddy
    Attached Images Attached Images
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I think Microsoft looks at a number of components of the computer - if one or two change, the computer will be recognized as the same. If too many are different, it will be assumed that it is a different computer. So I think you'll be OK.
    In case of problems, you can always contact Microsoft support - from what I've heard they're pretty lenient if you explain the situation.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='braddy60' post='794030' date='19-Sep-2009 09:28']Hi

    I have a copy of MSOffice Home and student it says it's licenced for three machines, Question if I load it on 3 PCc's and then a hard drive crashes will I still be able load it on the new drive or will Microsoft say you have already used your 3 licences.


    I asked the monkey but I don't know wether to believe him.


    Braddy[/quote]

    I would assume that if it's the same machine you could just enter your existing license key for that machine and not have to deal with MS at all.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    would assume that if it's the same machine you could just enter your existing license key for that machine and not have to deal with MS at all.
    There is ONLY one key code for all installs.


    I have been able to install several copies (more than 3) on different machines, when replacing a older machine.

    I would NOT try doing more than 3 at the same time, but maybe 6 months later try another.

    When we have done this, the copy was removed from the old machine within a week or so and they all seemed to work just fine.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='794046' date='19-Sep-2009 15:53'][/quote]
    There has been a recent update to Office Genuine Advantage, which may make some of this historic leniency no longer operative. Only experience will show what aspects are now enforced more strictly, if that's what happens...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='HansV' post='794037' date='19-Sep-2009 15:02']I think Microsoft looks at a number of components of the computer - if one or two change, the computer will be recognized as the same. If too many are different, it will be assumed that it is a different computer. So I think you'll be OK.
    In case of problems, you can always contact Microsoft support - from what I've heard they're pretty lenient if you explain the situation.[/quote]


    Hi

    Thanks to all who replied, it looks like there is not a lot to worry about.

    Regards


    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •