Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I have an unusual problem. There's this user who's mouse from time to time acts up and does wacky stuff. It'll jump around her screen or seem to select things when she's not using it. Her Windows XP SP3 workstation has been scanned repeatedly for virus and malware, none found. I've reinstalled the mouse drivers several times, no luck. Most of the time we can get it back under control by unplugging and then replugged in her mouse. Or rebooting. I've tried replacing her mouse (an optical mouse) and even tried a wireless mouse. No difference. I tried different USB ports. Nada.

    So earlier this afternoon same call. Mouse gone wild. She rebooted but it didn't help. I went in and did the unplug/plug. No change. I switched her to a different mouse. Same effect. It was almost time for her to go home so she did. After she left I unplugged the mouse entirely to get the cursor to stop its bad behavior but the, strangely enough, the behavior continued even with the mouse unplugged! Analyzing the machine remotely I disabled the mouse drivers and reboot. The problem was still there!

    That's when I saw the spoolsv.exe process was eating up 50% of the processor, even though nothing was going on and the machine had just been reboot. I disabled the print spooler and reboot. On reboot the wacky behavior was gone.

    I next used msconfig to disable everything in startup, re-enabled the print spooler, and reboot. I hoped there was something in the startup effecting the spoolsv. On reboot the problem was back so I guess I can rule that out.

    I tried reinstalling the mouse drivers and restarting the computer with the print spooler disabled but was still having difficulty, though not as wacky as before. Still bad enough to make the computer useable.

    I'm so tired. I don't have a replacement machine for her to use tomorrow. I'll try to get up o-dark 30 and try again when I'm more awake. Suggestions on what this might be or how to go about troubleshooting it?
    Daisy

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Good morning. I've decided to try a brain transplant when I get into work. I have the same computer as this user. I'm gonna switch hard drives and see if the problem persists. If it goes away, then I'll know it's hardware and not software related. If it still happens then I think that leaves me no choice but to format and rebuild her computer. Not something I look forward to doing because she has a specialized machine with custom software. Part of me hopes it's hardware so she can work, but that'll leave me with no computer while I troubleshoot the hardware problem or order a new machine.
    Daisy

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    This seems to have all the aspects of a Backdoor Subseven Trojan take over. Is the system connected to the internet ?? If so, pull the plug on that and see if the behavior persists. If not, you have a direction to go in. Reboot and run your AV & Malware tools in Safe Mode. If it persists after pulling the internet connection, I'd suspect a hardware issue.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='ailios' post='794703' date='24-Sep-2009 08:03']Good morning. I've decided to try a brain transplant when I get into work. I have the same computer as this user. I'm gonna switch hard drives and see if the problem persists. If it goes away, then I'll know it's hardware and not software related. If it still happens then I think that leaves me no choice but to format and rebuild her computer. Not something I look forward to doing because she has a specialized machine with custom software. Part of me hopes it's hardware so she can work, but that'll leave me with no computer while I troubleshoot the hardware problem or order a new machine.[/quote]

    Verify that the spoolsv.exe is being executed from C:\Windows\system32. Use something such as Process Explorer to verify this.

    You could have some corrupted files in your print spooler. Disable the print spooler. Then go to C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\PRINTERS and delete the files there.

    You may also want to ensure that you've got the latest print drivers.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='794710' date='24-Sep-2009 06:40']Verify that the spoolsv.exe is being executed from C:\Windows\system32. Use something such as Process Explorer to verify this.

    You could have some corrupted files in your print spooler. Disable the print spooler. Then go to C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\PRINTERS and delete the files there.

    You may also want to ensure that you've got the latest print drivers.

    Joe[/quote]

    You're a mind reader. I checked the process last night and made sure, yes, it's where it's suppose to be. This morning I just gave a look at the print spooler folder. There's two computers in accounting, both bought at the same time, same hardware, same programs. When I checked the print spooler folder I did find files in there. I deleted and rebooted. The spoolsv isn't eating CPU now so that's cool. I do also see a folder in there under printers that's not on the other computer. When I get in I'll see if that might have somethign to do with this. I'll let you know if this fixed it when I get this machien reboot again.
    Daisy

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Mouse works fine now. But this is a long running issue with it acting up sporadically. Something like twice a month. This does give me something new to explore. I believe it may have to do with the bank's check scanner and software. It runs on the other computer fine, but this computer uses it a lot more often. It seems like this problem has been going since about the same time we got these about a year ago. I've been wearing blinders to anything other than a mouse issue. It huge how much this means to me to have her working again. Thank you!
    Daisy

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    [quote name='ailios' post='794734' date='24-Sep-2009 11:10']Mouse works fine now. But this is a long running issue with it acting up sporadically. Something like twice a month. This does give me something new to explore. I believe it may have to do with the bank's check scanner and software. It runs on the other computer fine, but this computer uses it a lot more often. It seems like this problem has been going since about the same time we got these about a year ago. I've been wearing blinders to anything other than a mouse issue. It huge how much this means to me to have her working again. Thank you![/quote]

    You're welcome. Be sure to check on scanner twain drivers and the scanner software.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Everything was going along well on this issue after my post last year until today. We changed banks about a month or two back. At that time we kept the same check scanner but changed the software that accesses and uses it. No troubles until today. No idea why today of all days. The mouse cursor is jumping around, randomly clicking, even with the mouse unplugged and rebooted. I can't control the keyboard for more than a second before the mystery mouse does somethingt to change focus. I've disabled the printer spooler and reboot. Still happening. Nothing in the Printer folder like last time. No errs in event log. Now what do I do? It's obviously something in the software (mouse is unplugged) so moving this hard drive to a different machine isn't going to me any good. What do I look for? What can I do to get this person working again?
    Daisy

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Daisy View Post
    Everything was going along well on this issue after my post last year until today. We changed banks about a month or two back. At that time we kept the same check scanner but changed the software that accesses and uses it. No troubles until today. No idea why today of all days. The mouse cursor is jumping around, randomly clicking, even with the mouse unplugged and rebooted. I can't control the keyboard for more than a second before the mystery mouse does somethingt to change focus. I've disabled the printer spooler and reboot. Still happening. Nothing in the Printer folder like last time. No errs in event log. Now what do I do? It's obviously something in the software (mouse is unplugged) so moving this hard drive to a different machine isn't going to me any good. What do I look for? What can I do to get this person working again?
    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the scanner software. It would seem that is the issue if it was working before you installed the new software and is not working now.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington, USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the scanner software. It would seem that is the issue if it was working before you installed the new software and is not working now.
    I found a way to remotely look at the running processes on that machine. Nothing was running up the processor or memory. All was calm in that way. But I did see a process that appeared to relate to printing. We use to have Canon copiers with eCopy ShareScan for the scanning at the copier. The workstations had a eCopy Desktop program for working with the scanned files. Even though those copiers were replaced last summer the software is still on the workstations unused. On this machine there was a process running from the eCopy program directory - eCopy\PCLPrint\mrmlnc32.exe. When I entered safe mode the problem stopped. I uninstalled the eCopy Desktop program, reboot and now no more problem. Maybe could have been a conflict between that program and the bank check scanner/software. Time will tell.
    Daisy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •