Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Apologies if this is repetitive, but my son is screaming so I have to make this quick...

    My hard drive seems to be running a lot, even if the computer is idle. I can walk in the room at any random moments, and as often as not, the hard drive is running as if it's loading a program. This also happens a lot during certain games, affecting the gameplay. It started happening fairly recently, although I can't put an accurate time frame on it - say a few months.
    I am running Norton 260 as my AV/firewall. I also noticed that the more recent updates of Firefox have been causing everything to slow down significantly when it's on too long.
    My computer is over 5 years old, so I wonder if it's just a matter of time, and junk accumulating. Is there a useful program that could clean up the hard drive? Norton claims to, but it seems to do little good.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    [quote name='ripic80' post='794740' date='24-Sep-2009 12:28']My hard drive seems to be running a lot, even if the computer is idle. I can walk in the room at any random moments, and as often as not, the hard drive is running as if it's loading a program. This also happens a lot during certain games, affecting the gameplay. It started happening fairly recently, although I can't put an accurate time frame on it - say a few months.
    I am running Norton 260 as my AV/firewall. I also noticed that the more recent updates of Firefox have been causing everything to slow down significantly when it's on too long.
    My computer is over 5 years old, so I wonder if it's just a matter of time, and junk accumulating. Is there a useful program that could clean up the hard drive? Norton claims to, but it seems to do little good.[/quote]

    You can check out CCleaner - Home. It seems to be used by quite a few Loungers.

    Also, remember that software tends to use more system resources with new new releases. A computer that is five years old is close to ancient by PC standards. If you tell us a little more about your hardware we might be able to make some suggestions - CPU, RAM, HD size & amount free.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Is it possibly you have a RAID configuration? If the disks are imaged they must verify in the event of a blackout or other unusual event. It drives me mad after a blackout. My system certainly operates but at a very much reduced speed.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Another possibility is that the indexing service is running.

    You can prevent indexing of a particular disk drive by right clicking the drive in Windows Explorer, selecting Properties, and clearing the check box for "Allow indexing service..." on the General tab. This may take a few minutes to mark all folders and files.

    You can completely disable the indexing service from Start > Run > services.mst, find the Indexing Service, double click it and click Stop, then set the startup type to disabled.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the responses.
    I installed and ran CCleaner, so I will see how things go.
    I don't know what the indexing service is/does, but I will try disabling it.

    For reference, in case there is something else I can do, my specs are
    OS = XP SP3
    Pentium 4 3.0Ghz w/ HTT
    1.0 GB RAM
    80 GB hard drive, about 60% capacity
    I got this set up in April of 2004; I have heard hard drives are good for about 4 or 5 years, so I wonder if I am just getting to the point that I will need a new hard drive.
    Also, a game I was running kept causing the blue screen when I shut it down, with the code 0x7E. I was able to work around it, but the game was made in 2006, so I wondered if my setup (sound/video cards) is too old.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='ripic80' post='795025' date='26-Sep-2009 11:49'][/quote]
    In spite of having a good AV/firewall, you could try running something for "malware" such as Malwarebytes (the free version) to see if it finds anything on your system.

    I think you could use a bit more RAM. I'm not technically qualified to say this but it's possible the Windows swap file is acting up because there's "only" 1 gig of RAM.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='795041' date='26-Sep-2009 16:35']In spite of having a good AV/firewall, you could try running something for "malware" such as Malwarebytes (the free version) to see if it finds anything on your system.

    I think you could use a bit more RAM. I'm not technically qualified to say this but it's possible the Windows swap file is acting up because there's "only" 1 gig of RAM.[/quote]
    I don't think it's a swap file/RAM issue AL. I still only run with 512 MB of RDRAM and I don't have any issues with that.

    I was one of the lucky few who got their Dell with RDRAM and the MoBo will only accept that type of RAM. Until recently, it was VERY expensive and not worth upgrading a 6+ year old XP box. Now, with Window 7 around the corner, it might be worth spending $100 (price drop from almost $500) to upgrade to 1 GB. But I'm saving my money to buy the compatable software & hardware peripherals for the new OS.

    Sorry to wander off topic.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •