Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Remembering Me

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I am using IE 8 but I'm not blaming this problem on IE 8 because I had the same problem with IE 7 and even posted here about it. Woody's Lounge along with Netflix and maybe another forum will not remember me and I continually have to sign in even though I have told these places time and time again to remember me. I am not clearing cookies and it seems to only happen on this one machine. Is there some setting that I am missing that could be causing this to happen over and over again?

    Thanks
    H Lewton

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Do you have any utilities such as cCleaner set to run on a schedule ?? They could be deleting your cookies.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='hlewton' post='794863' date='25-Sep-2009 08:19']I am using IE 8 but I'm not blaming this problem on IE 8 because I had the same problem with IE 7 and even posted here about it. Woody's Lounge along with Netflix and maybe another forum will not remember me and I continually have to sign in even though I have told these places time and time again to remember me. I am not clearing cookies and it seems to only happen on this one machine. Is there some setting that I am missing that could be causing this to happen over and over again?[/quote]

    How did the instance of IE get started? I've seen this behavior when IE has been started from a link in an e-mail or document.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='794877' date='25-Sep-2009 10:01']Do you have any utilities such as cCleaner set to run on a schedule ?? They could be deleting your cookies.[/quote]
    No I don't. I do everything manually so I can make sure nothing gets deleted that I want to keep. Thanks
    H Lewton

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='joeperez' post='794880' date='25-Sep-2009 10:04']How did the instance of IE get started? I've seen this behavior when IE has been started from a link in an e-mail or document.

    Joe[/quote]
    It got started by clicking on my shortcut to Woody's Lounge.
    H Lewton

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='hlewton' post='794882' date='25-Sep-2009 09:11']It got started by clicking on my shortcut to Woody's Lounge.[/quote]

    Does this happen every time you start IE or just periodically?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Just periodically. Sometimes it may be OK for a couple days then it makes me log in again.
    H Lewton

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='hlewton' post='794892' date='25-Sep-2009 09:28']Just periodically. Sometimes it may be OK for a couple days then it makes me log in again.[/quote]

    This really seems like something running that is clearing your cookies.

    1.) Have you checked your task scheduler?
    2.) What security related software are you running - firewall, a/v, anti-malware, etc.?
    3.) Does any of the security software run scans automatically?
    4.) Have you checked the settings for all of the security related software you run?
    5.) Are you experiencing system crashes with IE open?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='joeperez' post='794894' date='25-Sep-2009 10:38']This really seems like something running that is clearing your cookies.

    1.) Have you checked your task scheduler?
    2.) What security related software are you running - firewall, a/v, anti-malware, etc.?
    3.) Does any of the security software run scans automatically?
    4.) Have you checked the settings for all of the security related software you run?
    5.) Are you experiencing system crashes with IE open?

    Joe[/quote]
    1. I don't schedule any task at all.
    2. I run Window's built in firewall behind a router. I use VIPRE anti-virus and spyware.
    3. No my security software does not run anything automatically and when I do it manually I am asked about cleaning it. My problem happens between me running manual scans. I just checked to see what it deletes and "All Internet Cookies" was listed but as I said it has happened between manual scans. At least I believe it has. I will have to pay very closer attention to this to see if that may be the problem.
    4. Yes I have just recently upgraded it and have checked the settings.
    5. No none at all.


    Thanks.
    H Lewton

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='hlewton' post='794892' date='25-Sep-2009 07:28']Sometimes it may be OK for a couple days then it makes me log in again.[/quote]
    Does your IP address change frequently? To prevent interlopers from stealing cookies and impersonating you, those sites may require a match with your earlier IP address.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='794931' date='25-Sep-2009 21:20']To prevent interlopers from stealing cookies and impersonating you, those sites may require a match with your earlier IP address.[/quote]
    This version of the Lounge initially did that, but because of the large number of complaints we turned off that feature, so a variable IP address can't be the cause, as least as far as the Lounge is concerned.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I wouldn't know how or why my IP address would change. I certainly do nothing to cause it.
    H Lewton

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='hlewton' post='794949' date='25-Sep-2009 13:24']I wouldn't know how or why my IP address would change. I certainly do nothing to cause it.[/quote]
    Actually, your ISP controls your IP address. Generally, unless you pay extra for a business account with a fixed IP address, your address may change within a range of addresses used for your local area. You can learn your current public IP address from a number of sites (e.g., ipchicken.com or http://dev.jeffersonscher.com/svrvars.asp), in case you want to monitor it.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='jscher2000' post='794954' date='25-Sep-2009 16:44']Actually, your ISP controls your IP address. Generally, unless you pay extra for a business account with a fixed IP address, your address may change within a range of addresses used for your local area. You can learn your current public IP address from a number of sites (e.g., ipchicken.com or http://dev.jeffersonscher.com/svrvars.asp), in case you want to monitor it.[/quote]
    Thanks but if that is the case there is nothing I could do about it anyhow. Doesn't my Linksys router determine my IP address?
    H Lewton

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    [quote name='hlewton' post='794967' date='25-Sep-2009 23:19']Doesn't my Linksys router determine my IP address?[/quote]
    No, it's your ISP.

    But, I repeat, if your IP changes that should *not* cause the Lounge to "forget" you're logged in.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •