Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    These last few days I have encountered prolonged delay in getting Word documents to open. On a few occasions when saving changes made to some Word doc then hitting the "Save" tab a pop-up message has appeared saying changes had been made to the basic template - do I want to save them- so not being aware that I have effected any such change I hit the NO button. As for making changes to the said template, I would not know where to start so am baffled why the message appears. Though infrequently, I have encountered this message in the past but have just ignored it. Could this have some bearing on the dreadful slowness of Word docs opening? Incidentally, this problem seems to have coincided with the appearing of the pop up message saying; "This copy of Microsoft Office is not genuine". Could it possibly be the case that Microsoft is causing this infuriating delay. I followed the advice given by Hans (20 Sep post) but the changes made not difference. Is it possible to identify the update that Microsoft sent out which seems to be the cause of this gremlin and can it be deleted? One further little snipit of info that might indicate something : - Whilst I am waiting for a Word doc to open [& with the computer just ticking over] I have noticed that in the Task Manager the "Performance level" is showing as running at 100%. Going mad with this problem....... any help in solving this "Hair ripping" issue would be most appreciated. Regards Dave.
    [attachment=85700:100_.jpg]
    [attachment=85701:not_genuine....jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Dave,

    Take a trip over to the MS Genuine Advantage diagnostic site and see what's up. Let us know what you find out and if they fix it or have a fix for you.

    http://www.microsoft.com/genuine/diag/
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DocWatson' post='795065' date='27-Sep-2009 00:23']Dave,

    Take a trip over to the MS Genuine Advantage diagnostic site and see what's up. Let us know what you find out and if they fix it or have a fix for you.

    http://www.microsoft.com/genuine/diag/[/quote]

    Thanks for responding so quick Doc. will certainly let you know if they help solve this diabolical problem. Seems I am not the only one to encounter it..... Thanks Dave.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='795071' date='26-Sep-2009 23:50']Thanks for responding so quick Doc. will certainly let you know if they help solve this diabolical problem. Seems I am not the only one to encounter it..... Thanks Dave.[/quote]


    ...ps Just logged on to the URL you mentioned and the result of the scan is shown below....... hope this suggests something to you. Thanks a bunch Dave.
    [attachment=85702:result..jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Take a look here and here to see if there is a resolution for your problem.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I moved this topic from the Windows XP forum to the General MS Office forum because it's clearly a problem with Microsoft Office, not with Windows XP.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='795093' date='27-Sep-2009 09:59']I moved this topic from the Windows XP forum to the General MS Office forum because it's clearly a problem with Microsoft Office, not with Windows XP.[/quote]

    Hi Doc.... I clicked the first link but could not make head not tail of the contents of the page so opened the second and followed the instruction. RESULT, as the screen shot shows all the elements get the green light but it has made absolutely no difference with the problem with WORD taking an eternity to both open and close. There is obviously a serious malfunction of the system that operates the WORD element of the package. Serious help still needed. [attachment=85707:All_passed_OK.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='795157' date='27-Sep-2009 16:26']Try Phil Rabichow's Systematic Approach to behavioral Problems in Word.[/quote]


    Thanks Hans.... tried that but I'm afraid it is way out of my depth. I have learned over my somewhat lengthy lifetime the poignant lesson; "If in doubt do (as we say in the north of England) NOWT" - (nothing for those refined in speech). I thought I would try to boot up in Safe Mode and see if that made any difference but to my dismay, Word docs remains lifeless when trying to both open & close them when they eventually do open. A friend suggested today that I try OpenOffice so I downloaded it and to my surprise when I clicked on OpenOffice.org Writer, a blank doc soon appeared on the screen. Not having even seen OpenOffice before I was totally unaware of how to use it so (experimenting) I clicked on the fifth option in the attached menu and found that (though a little slow) it does open Word docs that refuse to open in Word. SO, as a stop gap measure at least I can create Text docs but will not rest till I resolve the problem.
    One further suggestion to try to resolve this matter, seeing I still have the MW 2000 disc, would it be prudent to uninstall the existing one and reinstall from the disc?
    Pardon my bending the rules a little but can anyone tell me if it is possible to change the rulers in OpenOffice from millimeters to inches. Thanks for all the feed back, I accept that some I'll win & some I'll lose, especially with problems as complex as this one. Regards Dave. [attachment=85709:OpenOffice.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='795194' date='27-Sep-2009 14:59']Pardon my bending the rules a little but can anyone tell me if it is possible to change the rulers in OpenOffice from millimeters to inches.[/quote]
    This article might help: Can I change the measurement units from centimeters to inches? - OpenOffice.org Wiki

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    You might try uninstalling Word, but you'd have to make sure that all traces are gone before you reinstall it, otherwise the problem might remain. A program such as Revo Uninstaller Freeware can help with that.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Has this copy of Office been installed on more than one machine, if so explain?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='795198' date='27-Sep-2009 23:15']Has this copy of Office been installed on more than one machine, if so explain?[/quote]

    Thanks gents.... one at a time.... "jscher" I achieved my goal by sifting through the sequence of clicks you proffered then noticed the last line said simply, "Right click on the ruler & make your selection". simple..... "Hans" I will explore the Revo Uninstaller and - in light of being able to create text messages using OO- MIGHT attempt the uninstall. I suppose to install MW 2000 on the "C" drive necessitates uninstalling the old one first so, as an alternative, is it feasible to install it on the "D" drive and leave the original one alone, then if the problem remains the latter can be uninstalled? "DaveA" regarding your question, the disc I have to hand came with the first computer I ever had which was purchased NEW by my family for me in July 2000, the computer I am currently using I purchased second hand from a local shop having had the HD wiped and all the progs installed. Hope that clears up the background. Many thanks Dave.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    [quote name='Silver Fox' post='795209' date='28-Sep-2009 00:58']is it feasible to install it on the "D" drive and leave the original one alone[/quote]
    I wouldn't do that - it is bound to cause problems.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='795230' date='28-Sep-2009 05:24']I wouldn't do that - it is bound to cause problems.[/quote]

    Thanks Hans.... got more than enough problems to start with without running the risk of causing another. Will heed your advice. Cheers Dave.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •