Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    this is my first visit.i am new to computing with a three week old laptop running vista home premium and kaspersky anti-virus installed by vendor at time of purchase.after just a few visits to websites,i thought my computer was acting funny(sluggish) so i ran kaspersky complete scan,no problems detected.soon i noticed a mcafee icon on my desktop and also mcafee listed in all programs,including an uninstall option.i thought i should uninstall,but user account control warned me that the source was unknown,this looked suspicious to me so i am now waiting for advice.please understand that this is all new to me so i don"t know when i see something new whether it is ok or not.i do however learn quickly and intend to become proficient with all of this ASAP.please excuse my e e cummings typing as i don't type at all,and if my inquiry is inappropriate for this forum i will understand,i just don't know where to turn to at this early time in my apprenticeship.i did buy the dummy book for vista before my computer purchase,however if this sheds any light on my desire to do things as correctly as possible the first time.i forgot to mention that i have also twice had a message appear on screen about needing to install mcafee and the only way i can remove it is to shut computer down,none of this sounds right to me.thanks in advance for any help

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='gdavid' post='795129' date='27-Sep-2009 16:03']this is my first visit.i am new to computing with a three week old laptop running vista home premium and kaspersky anti-virus installed by vendor at time of purchase.after just a few visits to websites,i thought my computer was acting funny(sluggish) so i ran kaspersky complete scan,no problems detected.soon i noticed a mcafee icon on my desktop and also mcafee listed in all programs,including an uninstall option.i thought i should uninstall,but user account control warned me that the source was unknown,this looked suspicious to me so i am now waiting for advice.please understand that this is all new to me so i don"t know when i see something new whether it is ok or not.i do however learn quickly and intend to become proficient with all of this ASAP.please excuse my e e cummings typing as i don't type at all,and if my inquiry is inappropriate for this forum i will understand,i just don't know where to turn to at this early time in my apprenticeship.i did buy the dummy book for vista before my computer purchase,however if this sheds any light on my desire to do things as correctly as possible the first time.i forgot to mention that i have also twice had a message appear on screen about needing to install mcafee and the only way i can remove it is to shut computer down,none of this sounds right to me.thanks in advance for any help[/quote]
    hello and welcome to the lounge - I also like e e cummings!

    Have you ever knowingly had McAfee Antivirus installed on your PC? Could it have been that your vendor forgot to uninstall McAfee when installing Kaspersky? It is not a good idea to have two different antivirus programs installed at the same time!

    Probably the best thing to do is to download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware (for the free version, use the blue button on the left of its webpage) and install it on your PC. Start it up, click on the Update tab, then click on the Check for Updates button. When any updates have been downloaded and installed, click on the Scanner tab, then on the Scan button. The scan will probably take at least 20 minutes, maybe much longer, depending on how fast your PC is and how much Stuff you have installed. If it finds any viruses, you will be told and can remove it/them - this may also require a reboot of your PC, so be prepared.

    If nothing nasty is found, then it would probably be safe to uninstall McAfee. Sometimes this needs some brutality, because it prefers to stay on your PC, and other programs may then be needed to remove it completely...

    Let us know what happens!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Let me add my "Welcome" to that of BATcher. And add to his advice, as well. After downloading, updating and running Malwarebytes, if you are not infected with any bad guys or Malwarebytes finds and removes them (and if it does find something you should let it remove what it finds, reboot and run the scan again to be certain that the nasty does not reinstall itself on reboot ) you should go here and download the McAfee Removal Tool to be certain that you remove all of McAfee. As BATcher stated, it isstubborn & difficult to remove. This tool does that.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='BATcher' post='795133' date='27-Sep-2009 11:25']hello and welcome to the lounge - I also like e e cummings!

    Have you ever knowingly had McAfee Antivirus installed on your PC? Could it have been that your vendor forgot to uninstall McAfee when installing Kaspersky? It is not a good idea to have two different antivirus programs installed at the same time!

    Probably the best thing to do is to download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware (for the free version, use the blue button on the left of its webpage) and install it on your PC. Start it up, click on the Update tab, then click on the Check for Updates button. When any updates have been downloaded and installed, click on the Scanner tab, then on the Scan button. The scan will probably take at least 20 minutes, maybe much longer, depending on how fast your PC is and how much Stuff you have installed. If it finds any viruses, you will be told and can remove it/them - this may also require a reboot of your PC, so be prepared.

    If nothing nasty is found, then it would probably be safe to uninstall McAfee. Sometimes this needs some brutality, because it prefers to stay on your PC, and other programs may then be needed to remove it completely...

    Let us know what happens![/quote]

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Please try your post again. I'm certain that you did not intend to post a blank reply.

    Try using the Preview button to review your post before clicking the Post button until you get the hang of the Lounge software.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hope i'm doing this correctly.i believe my computer had a mcafee trial on it when shipped but the vendor charged for and installed kaspersky for me at time of purchase and i never saw this mcafee anywhere until it appeared after about three weeks of ownership,this was my first reason for alarm(mysterious,to me,appearance)anyway,the recommended malwarebytes seemed to find something(1 item)listed as VENDOR Hijack.StartMenu CATEGORY RegistryData ITEM HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Micro...... OTHER Bad(0) Good(1) no action taken.ihope i didn't do the wrong thing but i told the program to remove this.after this i got message that WINDOWS HAS BLOCKED SOME STARTUP PROGRAMS a LONG list all but 4 begin HKLM\SOFTWARE except 3 HKCU\SOFTWARE and 1 which is mcafee and is identified as manufacturer mcafee,inc. i'm pretty sure i need these programs (DUH) but don't know what needs to happen next.maybe it will take a little longer than i expected to obtain that proficiency that i so casually mentioned earlier!!!!you guys are amazing,i read some of the historical stuff o the website,apparently i'm back in kindergarten!!!thanks again,gdavid

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    [quote name='gdavid' post='795199' date='27-Sep-2009 18:20']hope i'm doing this correctly.i believe my computer had a mcafee trial on it when shipped but the vendor charged for and installed kaspersky for me at time of purchase and i never saw this mcafee anywhere until it appeared after about three weeks of ownership,this was my first reason for alarm(mysterious,to me,appearance)anyway,the recommended malwarebytes seemed to find something(1 item)listed as VENDOR Hijack.StartMenu CATEGORY RegistryData ITEM HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Micro...... OTHER Bad(0) Good(1) no action taken.ihope i didn't do the wrong thing but i told the program to remove this.after this i got message that WINDOWS HAS BLOCKED SOME STARTUP PROGRAMS a LONG list all but 4 begin HKLM\SOFTWARE except 3 HKCU\SOFTWARE and 1 which is mcafee and is identified as manufacturer mcafee,inc. i'm pretty sure i need these programs (DUH) but don't know what needs to happen next.maybe it will take a little longer than i expected to obtain that proficiency that i so casually mentioned earlier!!!!you guys are amazing,i read some of the historical stuff o the website,apparently i'm back in kindergarten!!!thanks again,gdavid[/quote]

    Given what you say here and the fact that you've only had the computer 3 weeks, I would suggest, at least calling the vendor to see what they say. It is difficult to tell from the information you are able to provide what Malwarebytes has found.

    Who was the "vendor" you purchased the computer from ?? A big box store, a local PC shop, online (I doubt this one) or some other source ?? I also wonder why they would install Kapersky on a system for a new user if there was a FREE trial of another AV program already on the machine, unless they made money on that Kapersky installation. Can you tell us which Kapersky product you have and what you were charged for it ?? There products page for home users can be found here.

    Learning to use a computer is an ongoing and ever changing process. Be patient and take your time. It is usually better to do nothing than to do something you don't understand and perhaps, ultimately make your problem worse. There is usually someone here 24/7 as we are an international group of volunteers, and we are always happy to assist folks with their computer questions and problems. If you don't know what to do in a certain situation, stop by and ask or go to Google and enter your question there. Often the answer will be among the first couple links. But, again, if you're not sure don't act immediately, look further or come on by the Lounge and ask.

    Call your vendor and see what they say and if you're not satisfied with the answer, ask us how it sounds. Post back and let us know how you make out
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •