Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    I don't have NS 6, and IE 5 doesn't really seem to support the W3C standards as written. Can someone with NS 6 tell me whether any of the collapsibility in this page works in your browser? If not, can you tell me the JavaScript error? Thanks.

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.carr-ferrell.com/pubs/html/faq2.htm>http://www.carr-ferrell.com/pubs/html/faq2.htm</A>

  2. #2
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Hi Jefferson:

    Working fine with IE6/W98.

    Will test shortly from IE5.5/W98 and NS61/Linux.

    Lief maintains a NS6/W2K test base so if you PM him he should be able test that combo for you.

  3. #3
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Fails in NS61/Linux. No error messages but all topics open expanded.

  4. #4
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Works fine in IE5.5/W98. Seems identical to IE6/W98 test.

  5. #5
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Same results in NS4.76/Linux. Opens expanded, no error.

  6. #6
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Similar results to NetScape with Opera5.12/W98. Opens expanded, no error.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    NS6/W2K
    All paragraphs open 'expanded' - clicking the arrows does nothing, I'm afraid.
    No error messages.
    Alt text over 'down' arrow only shows.

    NS4/W2K
    All paragraphs open 'expanded' - clicking the arrows does nothing, I'm afraid.
    No error messages.
    Alt text over 'up' arrow only shows.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Thanks, guys. IE 5 and 5.5 (and 6, thanks!) work because they are backwards compatible with IE4. I didn't write specific code for those browsers.

    I have NS 4.73. When I type java script: in the address line, the console tells me FAQ1 is not defined. FAQ1 is the DIV ID for the first chunk of text under the first heading, and I am trying to use the ID to access the layers collection. But I really haven't figured it out and frankly, I can't spend much more time on NS4.

    I would like to be compatible with NS 6, however. Can one of you check the console and see if there is a message there? I may eventually have to download the thing, but that is a "someday" project. Maybe one of you can save the page with its related graphics and see if you can get the code to work in NS 6. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    JavaScript console errors NS61/Linux:

    Source file: ....pubs/html/faq2.htm
    Line 79: Warning -equality (==) mistyped as assignment(=)
    else if(verNo = 4)
    Line 112: Warning -equality (==) mistyped as assignment(=)
    if(myLay.visibility = "hide")
    Line 10: Error - FAQ1 not defined.

    Source file: chrome://communicator/content/utilityOverlay.js
    Line 1: Error - redeclaration of const kIOServiceProgID

  10. #10
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Jefferson:

    I think that the assignment errors may be the cause of your NSx problems. My guess is that "jbrow" is being set to "old".

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Ian, thanks. The assignment errors were not caught in NS4; I guess the syntax checking in NS6 is stricter. In NS4 jbrow is being set to nn4, but I am very hopeful that in NS6 it will be set to w3c, as it should be.

    This is my last shot for NS (4 is hopeless, but maybe it will work in 6); I made enough changes to create a new page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.carr-ferrell.com/pubs/html/faq3.html>http://www.carr-ferrell.com/pubs/html/faq3.html</A>

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Fine here now on NS6/W2K
    Page opens will all collapsed, clicking the arrows toggles the paragraphs opened and closed.

  13. #13
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Fine now for NS61/Linux, IE6/W98, IE55/W98.
    No console errors at all in NS61/Linux.

    Still fails for NN4/*, Opera5.12/W98

    Looks like the major change was moving "var jbrow=sniffBrow()" up to a global. Desperation guess or did you find some problem with the nested call?

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Moving jbrow saves on processing cycles, but the major change was this: I was trying to pass the DIV ID as an object, which is allowed in IE4 and the technique used in the first exemplar I studied, but the others require that you pass the ID as a string and create an object by using the string as an index into the array/collection of elements. I changed the function arguments to strings (added quotation marks), recoded the IE4 section accordingly, and...got much better results. I am W3C compliant! Woo hoo!

    As for NS4, even though I myself use it now and then, I can't spend several more hours figuring out why it doesn't like me.

    On Opera, I am not detecting it, and therefore giving it default "old" treatment. If you know of some good browser sniffing code for Opera that I could just plug in, I'd be willing to try it.

  15. #15
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Works in NS 6? (NS 6)

    Jeff:

    Saved a copy of the new page and will play with it on my own system using Opera 5.12.

    Will get back to you with results. But, probably not till late Sunday.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •