Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I currently have XP & Vista in a dual boot setup and I'm wondering if I can add a new disk partition and install W7 in a triple boot setup. Any suggestions on this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Yes, but be sure that you have a good image of both of the current drives.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Chuck Tucker' post='795886' date='01-Oct-2009 14:12']I currently have XP & Vista in a dual boot setup and I'm wondering if I can add a new disk partition and install W7 in a triple boot setup. Any suggestions on this?[/quote]
    You betcha, Chuck. That's exactly what I have now using VistaBootPRO as my boot manager. I have XP, Vista and the Windows 7 Release Candidate all installed.

    Later this month, when I receive my RTM copy of Win 7 I plan to just blow away the RC and install the RTM.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks to all. I think I'll try the multi-boot bit.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Chuck Tucker' post='795971' date='01-Oct-2009 21:09']Thanks to all. I think I'll try the multi-boot bit.[/quote]
    Don't forget this that I learned back when I installed Vista as dual boot. I've recently encountered a couple of problems with letting Vista take drive C: and relegating my XP to D: instead of its usual C:

    There are a couple of things I do in Firefox that look for stuff on that XP drive as C: and this is the first "hiccup" after more than a year.

    Here's the text from one of my old Vista posts:
    Control which drive letter your boot volume uses

    Which drive letter will your clean installation of Windows Vista use? That depends on how you install it. If you currently have a working copy of any Windows version on drive C and you install a clean copy of Windows, drive letters are assigned using the following logic:

    If you begin the installation process by booting from the Windows Vista media and choose a partition other than the one containing your current copy of Windows, the new installation uses the drive letter C when you start up. The volume that contains the other Windows installation uses the next available drive letter. When you choose the previous Windows installation from the startup menu, it uses the drive letter C, and your new Windows Vista installation is assigned the next available drive letter. In this configuration, you can be certain that your current operating system is always on the C drive, but drive letters assigned to volumes you use for data may shift in unexpected ways.

    If you begin the installation process by running Setup from within your current version of Windows and use the Custom (Advanced) option to perform a clean install on a partition other than the one currently in use, the new installation uses the next available drive letter. The volumes containing each installation have the same drive letters regardless of which Windows version you select at startup.

    There's no inherent reason to prefer either of these options over the other. If you prefer the consistency of knowing that all system files and program files are on the C drive, you'll probably want to choose the first option. If you would rather use drive letters to keep track of which Windows version is running at any given time, you'll prefer the second option. But either configuration should work reliably with any combination of software, hardware, and settings.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •