Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi I have read about about Microsoft Security Essentials and would like like to know if it compatible with Windows XP SP3 media center edition because that is what I'm running now. If not, what would I have to do to get my computer to accept the download? Any help is appreciated thank you

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    According to Security Essentials System Requirements, it runs on Genuine (i.e. legitimate) Windows XP (Service Pack 2 or Service Pack 3). This includes Media Center Edition.
    You need to have a PC with a CPU clock speed of 500 MHz or higher, and 1 GB RAM or higher, and 140 MB of available hard disk space.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='schonman' post='796189' date='03-Oct-2009 10:31']Hi I have read about about Microsoft Security Essentials ...[/quote]
    And for your continued reading, just in case, there's a thread in our Security and Backup forum at: Post 795412

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='HansV' post='796190' date='03-Oct-2009 10:37']According to Security Essentials System Requirements, it runs on Genuine (i.e. legitimate) Windows XP (Service Pack 2 or Service Pack 3). This includes Media Center Edition.
    You need to have a PC with a CPU clock speed of 500 MHz or higher, and 1 GB RAM or higher, and 140 MB of available hard disk space.[/quote]
    thank you very much you've been a great help

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    [quote name='HansV' post='796190' date='03-Oct-2009 10:37']According to Security Essentials System Requirements, it runs on Genuine (i.e. legitimate) Windows XP (Service Pack 2 or Service Pack 3). This includes Media Center Edition.
    You need to have a PC with a CPU clock speed of 500 MHz or higher, and 1 GB RAM or higher, and 140 MB of available hard disk space.[/quote]

    Hans, I forgot to ask a question in my previous post regarding SE. I read in one of the posts I read today a mention that Automatic Updates might be required if you run Security Essentials. If that is correct than I have to forget about it, under no circumstances do I want AU installing updates without my permission. I realize that you can select that it only advise you of an update, but I've heard about it installing them anyway with the settings selected.

    Is Automatic Updates required? Please reply as soon as you possibly can. I must have an AV program installed soon.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Microsoft delivers updates to Microsoft Security Essentials through Microsoft Update, so if you don't install updates automatically, you'd have to install them yourself. If you look at the topic mentioned by Big Al higher up in this topic, you'll see that his experience with updating was not very satisfactory.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation

    [quote name='HansV' post='796278' date='04-Oct-2009 14:39']Microsoft delivers updates to Microsoft Security Essentials through Microsoft Update, so if you don't install updates automatically, you'd have to install them yourself. If you look at the topic mentioned by Big Al higher up in this topic, you'll see that his experience with updating was not very satisfactory.[/quote]

    I found Big Al's post #6 of #20 (so far). Some folks do and some folks don't, that's the motto of computing. I realize that I'm one of those who always seems to have trouble. If there's trouble in the area it will surely find me.

    I'm going to get it, cross my fingers as well as my eyes and hope Old Man Trouble misses me.

    Thanks Hans, you've really been a big help to me.


    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='HansV' post='796278' date='04-Oct-2009 14:39']Microsoft delivers updates to Microsoft Security Essentials through Microsoft Update, so if you don't install updates automatically, you'd have to install them yourself. If you look at the topic mentioned by Big Al higher up in this topic, you'll see that his experience with updating was not very satisfactory.[/quote]

    I just installed it on my XP partition ( after removing Avast ) and found that with "Real Time Protection" turned on, it slowed things down to a crawl and even blew away a couple of the utilities that I use. ( maybe it just slowed them down to where it just seemed like they weren't working anymore? )
    Turned off RTP and everything went back to normal. SO now I'm wondering if it is doing any "protecting" at all.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='viking33' post='796323' date='04-Oct-2009 19:03']I just installed it on my XP partition ( after removing Avast ) and found that with "Real Time Protection" turned on, it slowed things down to a crawl and even blew away a couple of the utilities that I use. ( maybe it just slowed them down to where it just seemed like they weren't working anymore? )
    Turned off RTP and everything went back to normal. SO now I'm wondering if it is doing any "protecting" at all.
    [/quote]

    When you first install MSE it asks if you wish to update the definitions and scan your PC. Did you let it scan the PC? If so, was the initial scan finished before you noticed the system slowdown?

    If you have real time protection turned off the only protection you have is from a scheduled scan.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Post

    [quote name='viking33' post='796323' date='04-Oct-2009 20:03']I just installed it on my XP partition ( after removing Avast ) and found that with "Real Time Protection" turned on, it slowed things down to a crawl and even blew away a couple of the utilities that I use. ( maybe it just slowed them down to where it just seemed like they weren't working anymore? )
    Turned off RTP and everything went back to normal. SO now I'm wondering if it is doing any "protecting" at all.
    [/quote]

    Hi Vike,

    Glad you posted your experience with MSE, it has caused me to change my mind about installing it. I've been warned, many times, about free programs and I choose to ignore them because or in spite of it being from Microsoft.

    Another potential program has been scratched off my list.

    Thanks again.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='Duchess843' post='796377' date='05-Oct-2009 07:56']Hi Vike,

    Glad you posted your experience with MSE, it has caused me to change my mind about installing it. I've been warned, many times, about free programs and I choose to ignore them because or in spite of it being from Microsoft.

    Another potential program has been scratched off my list.

    Thanks again.[/quote]

    His experience does not mean that will be your experience. I've installed MSE on several XP machines without a hitch. All seem to be performing as well as if not better than before MSE.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='Duchess843' post='796377' date='05-Oct-2009 08:56']Another potential program has been scratched off my list.[/quote]
    Yeah to what Joe said. I had NO performance hits from MSE when I had it installed in Vista. The problem I had may still be solvable but I didn't want to keep messing about trying. (I couldn't get it to automatically push down the multiple daily virus signature updates.)

    My machine ran quite well under MSE.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Smile

    [quote name='Bigaldoc' post='796379' date='05-Oct-2009 09:11']Yeah to what Joe said. I had NO performance hits from MSE when I had it installed in Vista. The problem I had may still be solvable but I didn't want to keep messing about trying. (I couldn't get it to automatically push down the multiple daily virus signature updates.)

    My machine ran quite well under MSE.[/quote]

    What did I say in a previous post "If trouble is around it surely will find me."
    You may not have had trouble using Vista, but I don't have that OS. The very last thing I need is more problems.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Arrow

    [quote name='joeperez' post='796378' date='05-Oct-2009 08:58']His experience does not mean that will be your experience. I've installed MSE on several XP machines without a hitch. All seem to be performing as well as if not better than before MSE.

    Joe[/quote]

    May I be so bold as to say: To be fore warned is to be fore armed.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='joeperez' post='796329' date='04-Oct-2009 22:00']When you first install MSE it asks if you wish to update the definitions and scan your PC. Did you let it scan the PC? If so, was the initial scan finished before you noticed the system slowdown?

    If you have real time protection turned off the only protection you have is from a scheduled scan.

    Joe[/quote]
    Joe,
    Yes, I let it update and do a scan first. After it completed and was sitting in the "notification" area with a green color indicating it was running and protecting, I did a reboot and tried to use a couple of apps and thought they were running rather slowly. Tried to start up System Mechanic and that wouldn't even get past the splash screen and just hung there.
    That's when I disabled RTP and everything came back to life instantly. Re-enabled, it got slow and cranky again. Disabled, fast and speedy.
    Wonder if a removal and reinstall might help?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •