Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ive VB6 code thats been running for 5-6 years. We rolling out a new SOE image (standard operating environment).Now when the code runs the following error message displays
    error -2147418094 remote server doesnot exist

    I found this related article in MS http://support.microsoft.com/kb/186063/en-us
    instead of excel, im using Word as the object

    i can do the workaround thats not a problem.

    ill need to do some analysis on the new pc image builds to determine the differences

    my question is
    would this message be caused, related to, or side effect from possibly a ms patch, hotfix, dll update? or other...
    know where/how I can find out this type of information?
    anyone else come across this issue?


    diana

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diana' post='796665 View Post
    i can do the workaround thats not a problem.
    I'm not sure what you mean.

    [quote name='Diana' post='796665' date='06-Oct-2009 15:36']would this message be caused, related to, or side effect from possibly a ms patch, hotfix, dll update? or other...
    know where/how I can find out this type of information?
    anyone else come across this issue?[/quote]
    Are you changing from XP to Vista, or among Office versions? Can you load your VB code on the new platform and debug it, i.e., step through the code to determine where the error occurs?

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Its WindowsXP- SP2 Office XP-SP3, the document management system is upgraded. However a new SOE image has been created. There is a difference between the new image and existing image.

    On the existing image code works successfully each time.

    on the new image when I debug the code it fails on line...

    objWordApp.Quit



    VB6 code..


    Cleanup:
    If blnWordWasNotRunning = True Then
    objWordApp.Quit
    End If
    Set objWordApp = Nothing

    If blnExcelWasNotRunning = True Then
    objExcelApp.Quit
    End If
    Set objExcelApp = Nothing

    Me.Hide
    Exit Sub

    Errorhandler:
    MsgBox Err.Number
    Select Case Err.Number
    'error handling here...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='Diana' post='796676' date='06-Oct-2009 17:07']on the new image when I debug the code it fails on line...

    objWordApp.Quit[/quote]
    Sounds as though objWordApp was already Nothing when that line runs. Can you trap for that, e.g.,
    Code:
    If Not (objWordApp is Nothing) then objWordApp.Quit

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ive added sample code and trapped it...

    If Not (objWordApp is Nothing) then objWordApp.Quit


    it still errors on "objWordApp.Quit"

    this error is inconsistant and doesnt display always while running the code.

    Im monitoring the task manager and can see Winword.exe load and unload.

    on the new image , when the code does work winword.exe is still running in the task manager.

    so far ...all I can determine is it seems related to a time issue - i wonder what if anything can be controlling this?

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    And Excel does behave itself?

    Not quite related, but maybe it helps:

    I have seen problems with bogus compile errors for an addin I offer for download on my website.
    These problems are caused by a problematic Office update and can be fixed by running Help, detect and repair from Excel.

    Maybe running that from Word will solve your problem too?
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •