Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    For some reason time synchronization now always fails when I try it at home, using a Linksys ADSL Wifi Modem, with both my desktop system and my notebook. This happens on all servers, with the error saying the peer is unreachable. But in the office, the same notebook synchronizes OK with a similar ASDL Wifi modem and the same ISP.

    I have tried at home using the nistime program from NIST. This works OK, as long as I use the TCP port 13, but fails with the UDP port 123 (NTP). I could not get AboutTime to work at all.

    I have tried turning off the (Windows) firewall; no difference, and in fact no report of failed connection there. I have tried turning off the modem firewall, again no difference, and again no report of problems. I have tried stopping and restarting the Windows time server, but synchronization still fails.

    Not sure how long this has been going on, because I have just returned home after three weeks away, and I can't remember the last time I checked the time synchronization - may be a couple of months back. Might it have been affected by a recent Windows update concerning Daylight Saving Time (although that does not affect me here)?

    Not a huge problem, since I can use nistime (although AboutTime seems to imply that using TCP is less accurate than NTP). But I'm intrigued! Anyone any ideas?

    Chris

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='wartaaids' post='796741' date='07-Oct-2009 06:41']For some reason time synchronization now always fails when I try it at home, using a Linksys ADSL Wifi Modem, with both my desktop system and my notebook. This happens on all servers, with the error saying the peer is unreachable. But in the office, the same notebook synchronizes OK with a similar ASDL Wifi modem and the same ISP.

    I have tried at home using the nistime program from NIST. This works OK, as long as I use the TCP port 13, but fails with the UDP port 123 (NTP). I could not get AboutTime to work at all.

    I have tried turning off the (Windows) firewall; no difference, and in fact no report of failed connection there. I have tried turning off the modem firewall, again no difference, and again no report of problems. I have tried stopping and restarting the Windows time server, but synchronization still fails.

    Not sure how long this has been going on, because I have just returned home after three weeks away, and I can't remember the last time I checked the time synchronization - may be a couple of months back. Might it have been affected by a recent Windows update concerning Daylight Saving Time (although that does not affect me here)?

    Not a huge problem, since I can use nistime (although AboutTime seems to imply that using TCP is less accurate than NTP). But I'm intrigued! Anyone any ideas?

    Chris[/quote]

    See How to configure an authoritative time server in Windows XP & How to synchronize the time with the Windows Time service in Windows XP for details on configuring the Windows Time Service.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='wartaaids' post='796741' date='07-Oct-2009 12:41']For some reason time synchronization now always fails when I try it at home[/quote]
    When it fails at home, I know I need to investigate what is being stopped by the latest software firewall I have installed!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='796766' date='07-Oct-2009 20:21']See How to configure an authoritative time server in Windows XP & How to synchronize the time with the Windows Time service in Windows XP for details on configuring the Windows Time Service.

    Joe[/quote]
    Joe,

    Thanks for the suggestions. But I admit that I am rather loath to implement these quite complex routines without being a little more sure that the problem is with my system. Given that my note book refuses to synchronize when accessing the 'net at home, but does synchronize when accessing the 'net in the office, I'm a bit doubtful that the problem lies in the computer itself. Am I missing something?

    Chris

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    [quote name='BATcher' post='796784' date='07-Oct-2009 21:52']When it fails at home, I know I need to investigate what is being stopped by the latest software firewall I have installed![/quote]
    BATcher,

    Thanks for your thoughts. However, I have tried with both Windows and modem firewall disabled. To my knowledge, I have not installed any other software (or hardware) firewall.

    Could the firewalls be restricting access to UDP port 123 even though they are disabled? Would they not report this if they were?

    Chris

  6. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='wartaaids' post='796882' date='08-Oct-2009 03:32']Thanks for your thoughts. However, I have tried with both Windows and modem firewall disabled. To my knowledge, I have not installed any other software (or hardware) firewall.
    Could the firewalls be restricting access to UDP port 123 even though they are disabled? Would they not report this if they were?[/quote]
    If you have temporarily disabled them, the answer has to be No.
    Try a command-line program like CMDTIME
    Here:s an old BATch file I used...[
    Code:
    @echo off
    title
    echo +---------+
    echo I NTPtime I  synchronise PC time with Internet Time Servers
    echo +---------+	(requires internet connection, obviously!)
    ::										   John Gray  17SEP2007,30NOV2007
    echo.
    
    :: note: could use NET TIME /SETSNTP:<NTPservername> but no stats!
    :: note: CMDTIME$.EXE is CMDTIME3.EXE with a couple of spelling corrections
    
    setlocal
    :: go for the UK pool of NTP time servers
    set timeservers=uk.pool.ntp.org
    
    :: ensure that there's an internet connection and the pool is PINGable
    ping -n 1 %timeservers% | findstr "TTL=" > NUL
    if %errorlevel% EQU 0 goto dosync
    
    :: PING failed
    echo %~n0: unable to PING  the required Internet Time Server or Pool
    echo %~n0:   please check that the PC has an internet connection
    echo %~n0:   and try again...
    goto finish
    ::--------------------
    
    :dosync
    :: sync can be followed by a list of 10 or fewer NTP time servers
    cmdtime$ /t /m:6000000 sync %timeservers%
    ::	   I  I		  I	I
    ::	   I  I		  I	- one or more time servers or a pool
    ::	   I  I		  - synchronise with time server(s)
    ::	   I  - maximum allowable correction (minutes) - here ~11.4 years 
    ::	   - display server's response time in ms
    
    if errorlevel 1 echo %~n0: received errorlevel %errorlevel% from CMDTIME
    
    :finish
    endlocal
    ping -n 11 127.0.0.1 > nul
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    [quote name='wartaaids' post='796882' date='07-Oct-2009 21:32']BATcher,

    Thanks for your thoughts. However, I have tried with both Windows and modem firewall disabled. To my knowledge, I have not installed any other software (or hardware) firewall.

    Could the firewalls be restricting access to UDP port 123 even though they are disabled? Would they not report this if they were?

    Chris[/quote]

    Is this a work notebook? If an IT department configured the PC, it could be looking for a work server that is a time server. That is typical with a Windows domain environment.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    [quote name='joeperez' post='796924' date='08-Oct-2009 20:11']Is this a work notebook? If an IT department configured the PC, it could be looking for a work server that is a time server. That is typical with a Windows domain environment.

    Joe[/quote]
    Joe,

    Thanks for the thought. No, it is a personal notebook, which I configured myself. I am the IT Department

    Chris

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='wartaaids' post='796927' date='08-Oct-2009 09:36'][/quote]
    Hey Chris, this is probably out in left field somewhere, but since the stuff you've said seems to eliminate THE computer (home vs. work, firewalls, modems, etc.) do you think there could be something up with your home ISP? I can't for the life of me figure why, it's just that it looks like you've tried everything else... I dunno...

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    [quote name='BATcher' post='796888' date='08-Oct-2009 11:50']If you have temporarily disabled them, the answer has to be No.
    Try a command-line program like CMDTIME
    Here:s an old BATch file I used...[
    ...[/quote]
    BATcher,

    Thanks for the suggestion. After some tweeking, I did get this batch file to run, but it returned "time: received errorlevel 1 from CMDTIME" (I changed this from CMDTIME$ since I couldn't identify the spelling corrections referred to).

    Not sure where to go now, or even if it is worth sweating...

    Chris

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    [quote name='wartaaids' post='796927' date='08-Oct-2009 09:36']Hey Chris, this is probably out in left field somewhere, but since the stuff you've said seems to eliminate THE computer (home vs. work, firewalls, modems, etc.) do you think there could be something up with your home ISP? I can't for the life of me figure why, it's just that it looks like you've tried everything else... I dunno...[/quote]
    Thanks, Al. Not sure where left field is, but like you I'm equally perplexed. Given that I am still able to set the time using nistime, I don't think it's worth spending more time on it, other than occasionally trying the built-in routine to see if it's changed its mind, and continuing to hope for a sudden thought while in bath (STWIB). If there are any further developments, I'll post them...

    (There ought to be a 'head-scratching' Smiley!)

    Chris

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    [quote name='wartaaids' post='797074' date='09-Oct-2009 11:47'](There ought to be a 'head-scratching' Smiley!)[/quote]
    Like this?

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Or, outside WOPR there's:

    . . . or . . .

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='797077' date='09-Oct-2009 17:00']Like this? [/quote]
    Hans,

    Exactly! But why can't I find that in the emoticons box? What am I missing?

    (as usual!)

    Chris

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    It's not in the current software's icon list. Rather, it's in the "old" folder of WOPR flags and smilies which you can bookmark here:

    Index of /S.

    As long as you have an idea of the name you want to use, it's easy to find one with a Ctrl-F or eyeballing, i.e. "scratch"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •