New Lounger
    Thanks
    Oct 10-10-09 Cannot install Windows Live Essentials--Have cleaned disc, have tried IE, have tried FF. Keep getting..."could not write value to key\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\windows\current\helper objects\{5C255C9A-E604-49b4-9D64-90988571CECB} "
    Does anybody have help? I'm a novice. Many Thanks---PS maybe I don't even want the download????

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    See Windows Live Essentials on Wikipedia for a description - you can decide for yourself whether you want/need it or not.

If you want it, Microsoft's website is Essentials - Windows Live. If you click the Download button there, you can choose whether to run or save the setup file. Click Save and specify a folder on your hard disk.
    When the download has completed, locate the setup file wlsetup-web.exe in Windows Explorer. Right-click it and select Run as Administrator from the popup menu. Hopefully that will avoid the problem that you mentioned.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='HansV' post='797240' date='10-Oct-2009 10:07']See Windows Live Essentials on Wikipedia for a description - you can decide for yourself whether you want/need it or not.

If you want it, Microsoft's website is Essentials - Windows Live. If you click the Download button there, you can choose whether to run or save the setup file. Click Save and specify a folder on your hard disk.
    When the download has completed, locate the setup file wlsetup-web.exe in Windows Explorer. Right-click it and select Run as Administrator from the popup menu. Hopefully that will avoid the problem that you mentioned.[/quote]

Thank You, HansV

Silver Lounger
    Thanks
    [quote name='Idgrandma' post='797237' date='10-Oct-2009 09:48']Oct 10-10-09 Cannot install Windows Live Essentials--Have cleaned disc, have tried IE, have tried FF. Keep getting..."could not write value to key\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\windows\current\helper objects\{5C255C9A-E604-49b4-9D64-90988571CECB} "