Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Sync Center

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    BECCLES, Suffolk, England
    Posts
    407
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Running W7RC1. We synchronise the Documents & Settings folders between PC1 and PC2. Currently we use SyncToy. In W7, Control Panel, Sync Center the is the option to Sync Setup. Opening this I find Offline files. I must be missing something because I cannot set up offline files. The instruction to right hand mouse and choose create an offline folder does not appear - please see the attachment. Any help will be appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/StephenElms_sig.jpg> Didn't think that I made my first post here on 5th February 2001...!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='StephenElms' post='797446' date='12-Oct-2009 11:28']Running W7RC1. We synchronise the Documents & Settings folders between PC1 and PC2. Currently we use SyncToy. In W7, Control Panel, Sync Center the is the option to Sync Setup. Opening this I find Offline files. I must be missing something because I cannot set up offline files. The instruction to right hand mouse and choose create an offline folder does not appear - please see the attachment. Any help will be appreciated.[/quote]

    I haven't tried Windows 7, but in Vista you do this from within Windows Explorer, browse the network to the PC that is sharing the folder, right click on the folder and choose "Always Available Offline"

    [attachment=85916ffline.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='StephenElms' post='797446' date='12-Oct-2009 11:28']Running W7RC1. We synchronise the Documents & Settings folders between PC1 and PC2. Currently we use SyncToy. In W7, Control Panel, Sync Center the is the option to Sync Setup. Opening this I find Offline files. I must be missing something because I cannot set up offline files. The instruction to right hand mouse and choose create an offline folder does not appear - please see the attachment. Any help will be appreciated.[/quote]
    Personally I would avoid SyncToy like the plague on anything other than XP or Vista, and most definitely not try to use it on a NAS device, where corruption is known to occur!

    SyncToy on Windows 7 is not supported yet: "We are still in process [of?] testing SyncToy on Windows 7. so as for now, we will not officially support Windows 7 until on or soon after the OS ships."

    There is likely to be a new version (3.0, maybe?) which might be expected to fully support Windows 7 and NAS.

    Even though I'm a long-term home user of SyncToy on XP, I am seriously looking at SyncBack (free, or SE, version)...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Edit: This post is in the wrong thread. 'Always available offline' triggered the discussion that follows, but I was not thinking of synchronizing data between computers, which is the point of the thread. Readers may ignore it, or read it out of curiosity. peterg

    This may be a little off the mark for your needs, but just in case it is of interest to you, a commercial product, WebCopier_Pro, will let you accumulate entire websites or portions thereof (you set the filters, depth, and other variables) for offline reading or later use. I have had it for years (lifetime subscription), and at one time I got a lot of use from it. This is a very powerful application.

    Embarrassingly, I have not yet tried it under Windows 7 RTM. The more efficient (Win 7) computing may make a difference in one area: if you are building a database of any size it can take a very long time to reduce the files, and it may now take less.

    You can download a trial version, and I recommend it if you have a use for it.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Here is a rundown on permissions and ownership in Windows 7 in case that is a part of the puzzle.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Most of us have programs or features that we aren't using, and if the version of Office you are using includes Groove, that program would solve your immediate problem, and if you haven't used it to date, you might learn and start using an entire program that is sitting idle. It may not be your cup of tea, but look it over if you have it. You (may) have already paid for it. This is in Office 2007, not Windows.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='peterg' post='798477' date='16-Oct-2009 22:43']Here is a rundown on permissions and ownership in Windows 7 in case that is a part of the puzzle.[/quote]
    Thanks, Peter - I can see this being very useful on Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •