Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    Hi,

    Is there a way to pull XP & Vista client systems from a 2008 domain WITHOUT creating a new profile? In other words I want to transfer the users documents form the server, pull them from the domain and then let them carry on. Outside of having their documents held remotely there isn't much they gain from being domain members i.e. everything else is just like a normal standalone/broadband PC.

    If I do it the "proper" way (i.e. properly pull the system from the domain, reboot, new profile etc.) I have to set the entire machine up again ... transfer documents, favourites, email, desktop and so on.

    I don't care what happens to the server/domain as I'm getting rid of that, this is purely a client oriented question ... IOW I want to remove the client from the domain BUT keep the profile

    Is it possible?

    Cheers

    Kyu

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='Kyuuketsuki' post='799193' date='21-Oct-2009 16:42'][/quote]
    Are you using Roaming Profiles? If so, all the profiles are sitting there in one share.

    Alternatively, what happens when you remove a domain PC from the domain and add it into a (dummy) workgroup?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher' post='799199 View Post
    Alternatively, what happens when you remove a domain PC from the domain and add it into a (dummy) workgroup?
    I don't know ... if you guys don't then it looks like I might have to go through the whole thing

    Kyu

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='Kyuuketsuki' post='799337' date='22-Oct-2009 13:01']> Alternatively, what happens when you remove a domain PC from the domain and add it into a (dummy) workgroup?

    I don't know ... if you guys don't then it looks like I might have to go through the whole thing [/quote]
    I wasn't suggesting you did all of them, just try moving one from domain to workgroup, and seeing what resulted... You can always rejoin it to the domain, o so easily!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    If you remove the computer from the domain and add it to a workgroup then you will need to create new accounts for logging in directly to the local computer and these will create new profiles, even if the usernames are the same.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='StuartR' post='799392' date='22-Oct-2009 18:26']If you remove the computer from the domain and add it to a workgroup then you will need to create new accounts for logging in directly to the local computer and these will create new profiles, even if the usernames are the same.[/quote]
    I don't disagree, but surely some sneaky copying of one profile to the other may help him?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='BATcher' post='799397' date='22-Oct-2009 18:53']I don't disagree, but surely some sneaky copying of one profile to the other may help him?[/quote]
    That is exactly what I would do

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK ... but to do this I'd need to switch my users to roaming profiles and then test it, yes?

    Sounds like it might be easier to go the way I was trying to avoid especially since I don't have that may users 4 (and my own account doesn't matter since I've got the new Win 7 which I plan to install this weekend.

    Kyu

  9. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='Kyuuketsuki' post='799493' date='23-Oct-2009 09:37']OK ... but to do this I'd need to switch my users to roaming profiles and then test it, yes?[/quote]
    You could, but why not just back up their current profiles (everything including and below "C:\Documents and Settings\<username>") to somewhere convenient before removing the PCs from the domain and attaching them to a workgroup? Desktop, Favorites, My Documents, etc, can easily be copied to their new profiles.

    Anyway, is there really anything much in the profile that you cannot simply recreate?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    [quote name='BATcher' post='799508' date='23-Oct-2009 13:03']...why not just back up their current profiles (everything including and below "C:\Documents and Settings\<username>") to somewhere convenient before removing the PCs from the domain and attaching them to a workgroup? Desktop, Favorites, My Documents, etc, can easily be copied to their new profiles.[/quote]

    "That's the way to do it" (said in a high-pitched punchinello voice)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •