Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Windows 7 help

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a laptop HP Pavilion Dv6324us. AMD Turion 64x2 processor with 2gb ram and Vista premium 32 bit.

    Can I install windows 7 premium 64 bit then increase my ram?

    Thanks,

    Commonsense

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    If you search the HP website for that laptop model and download the maintenance guide you will see that it supports up to 2 * 1Gbyte RAM modules. So the answer is NO, this laptop only supports 2GB of RAM.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,829
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 109 Times in 103 Posts
    [quote name='commonsense' post='799505' date='23-Oct-2009 12:22']I have a laptop HP Pavilion Dv6324us. AMD Turion 64x2 processor with 2gb ram and Vista premium 32 bit.

    Can I install windows 7 premium 64 bit then increase my ram?[/quote]

    The simple answer is Yes.
    You would have to wipe the whole disk and start from scratch (usually called a "clean install"), since you'd be going from 32-bit to 64-bit. Have you checked with (say) Belarc Advisor, or crucial.com that you have spare slots into which to add memory?
    I reckon that you'd probably be happy with 4 GB of real memory in Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit - although running Windows Server 2008 64-bit in 4 GB of memory, with a Core 2 Quad processor, is a bit pedestrian...
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,829
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 109 Times in 103 Posts
    [quote name='BATcher' post='799511' date='23-Oct-2009 13:10'][/quote]
    Ooops - should have picked up on the word "laptop"...!
    You could try it with 2 GB and see what you think, then start from scratch with 32-bit Windows 7, if you find 64-bit too slow... Assuming you have both flavours available.
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    With only 2GB of memory there is absolutely no advantage to running a 64 bit operating system. It is likely that a 32 bit version will be more efficient (because all memory pointers are half the size).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •