Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    BECCLES, Suffolk, England
    Posts
    407
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm running Windows 7. In the previous installation - running rc 1 - and now the RTM, when booting up the screen resolution drops, I have to Identify the monitor and the resolution goes up to the monitor's default. Any ideas on this please?
    Also every 10 to 15 minutes the monitor flickers to a black screen of death! Only for a second or so and then comes back on. I suspect that it may be a monitor drivers problem - but all comments will be appreciated.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/StephenElms_sig.jpg> Didn't think that I made my first post here on 5th February 2001...!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='StephenElms' post='799780' date='25-Oct-2009 11:20']I suspect that it may be a monitor drivers problem.[/quote]
    Could it be a problem with the monitor itself, or with the connections at either end?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    [quote name='StephenElms' post='799780' date='25-Oct-2009 07:20']I'm running Windows 7. In the previous installation - running rc 1 - and now the RTM, when booting up the screen resolution drops, I have to Identify the monitor and the resolution goes up to the monitor's default. Any ideas on this please?
    Also every 10 to 15 minutes the monitor flickers to a black screen of death! Only for a second or so and then comes back on. I suspect that it may be a monitor drivers problem - but all comments will be appreciated.[/quote]

    Here is a quick route to anything at all that goes wrong, and it is a matter of luck as much as anything. If you click on the flag in the notification area it may have a message, and the message may be a route to 'find and fix problems' that is in the Control Panel's 'System and Security'. You may be shocked the first time you run it at the number of problems, but this is a good place to let the machine (as well as 'The Machine') see what is going on and start providing answers. Microsoft can't know what to fix if it don't know what's broke, so get in the queue and feed it some problems.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    BECCLES, Suffolk, England
    Posts
    407
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok, thanks for that advice. I've just checked the connect thoroughly, taken the plugs out, cleaned off the dust then re-attached securely. In the meantime Samsung advised that I should install their latest driver. Had a look on their net and find it to be dated Feb 2008! Any after downloading and installing the "latest" driver we shall see what happens...
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/StephenElms_sig.jpg> Didn't think that I made my first post here on 5th February 2001...!

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    BECCLES, Suffolk, England
    Posts
    407
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've installed the Feb 2009 monitor driver, the screen resolution on boot up reverts to a generic driver with a low screen of 1024. The flicker to black still happens. Any further ideas please?
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/StephenElms_sig.jpg> Didn't think that I made my first post here on 5th February 2001...!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    [quote name='StephenElms' post='800249' date='28-Oct-2009 09:15']I've installed the Feb 2009 monitor driver, the screen resolution on boot up reverts to a generic driver with a low screen of 1024. The flicker to black still happens. Any further ideas please?[/quote]
    Best I can do is to point you at this thread - annoyance but no results, it would seem...

    Later: also try this thread.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •