Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I want to add other locations to the Favorite Links panel which shows up during the file save picture dialog. I have yet to find the right combination of search terms to find out how to do this.

    I've attached a pic showing what I am trying to change for those who do not have Vista Home Premium 64 Bit with IE 8.

    Jester
    Attached Images Attached Images
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='HansV' post='799890' date='25-Oct-2009 19:46']Does this help?

    Quick Add Links to Windows Vista Explorer Favorite Links[/quote]
    Thank you but I found that the instructions did not work as described on my machine. I could not browse to a folder in the right hand panel and drag to the left panel or the "favorite links" toolbar. Again I have attached a screen shot of what happens when I drag a folder. I get the black circle with the slash through it and nothing changes.

    Also, I am running as an admin at the time.

    Jester
    Attached Images Attached Images
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    [quote name='dgpile' post='799910' date='25-Oct-2009 23:31']Thank you but I found that the instructions did not work as described on my machine. I could not browse to a folder in the right hand panel and drag to the left panel or the "favorite links" toolbar. Again I have attached a screen shot of what happens when I drag a folder. I get the black circle with the slash through it and nothing changes.[/quote]
    I would suggest you not try to create a new "link" in your Favorites Links while in a "Save as" dialog window. Have you tried to add a link using the "drag & drop" method outlined in the article in a regular Explorer window?

    And, I'm just curious why you are using a "Classic" theme in Vista and not the default Aero?... nostalgia nightmare!
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Pilgrim' post='799934' date='26-Oct-2009 07:23']I would suggest you not try to create a new "link" in your Favorites Links while in a "Save as" dialog window. Have you tried to add a link using the "drag & drop" method outlined in the article in a regular Explorer window?

    And, I'm just curious why you are using a "Classic" theme in Vista and not the default Aero?... nostalgia nightmare! [/quote]
    The behavior is the same in Windows Explorer where I have to click the arrow to display the "Favorites Links".

    I do not run the Windows Vista Theme as I have adjusted fonts for several of the display items due to a vision impairment. To run Aero I would have to give up such needed changes.

    Jester
    Attached Images Attached Images
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='dgpile' post='800020' date='26-Oct-2009 17:54']The behavior is the same in Windows Explorer where I have to click the arrow to display the "Favorites Links".

    I do not run the Windows Vista Theme as I have adjusted fonts for several of the display items due to a vision impairment. To run Aero I would have to give up such needed changes.[/quote]
    Admittedly, this is just a guess on my part but it wouldn't take long to test it out. I'm thinking that the "Classic" theme you are using automatically disables some functions which are available using the Aero Theme. Why not enable the Aero Theme in "Personalization" and see if you can create a link in the "Favorites Links" using the same drag & drop method?

    Another question that comes to mind is whether you might have disabled some features, this being one of them (could be tied in with something else?) sometime ago and have forgotten you did so?

    Lastly, and this is a matter for the Vista forum, you can adjust font sizes without resorting to the Classic Theme. Whether it would meet your particular needs is something only you could determine.
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='Pilgrim' post='800050' date='26-Oct-2009 20:32']Admittedly, this is just a guess on my part but it wouldn't take long to test it out. I'm thinking that the "Classic" theme you are using automatically disables some functions which are available using the Aero Theme. Why not enable the Aero Theme in "Personalization" and see if you can create a link in the "Favorites Links" using the same drag & drop method?

    Another question that comes to mind is whether you might have disabled some features, this being one of them (could be tied in with something else?) sometime ago and have forgotten you did so?

    Lastly, and this is a matter for the Vista forum, you can adjust font sizes without resorting to the Classic Theme. Whether it would meet your particular needs is something only you could determine. [/quote]

    Thank you all for your comments and questions. What I just found was that under my user profile structure there was NO Links folder. I compared the other users structure and noted the difference. When I created a new Links folder I was then able to create whatever shortcuts I pleased within Windows Explorer and they were present when I repeated the picture save operation from within IE 8.

    Jester
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •