New Lounger
    Thanks
    Hi there,

We use Word documents created in the French version of Word 2003. When colleagues with the English version of Word 2003 work on the same documents, they of course get "error style not defined" in the headers, footers, TOC and so on. They have to send the documents back to French colleagues to get them updated.

One suggestion is to allow the user to choose between attaching the English or French templates when you open the document. VB can detect the language of the installation programme and user interface ( using the Application.LanguageSettings.LanguagePreferredForE diting property) on condition that the languages are in the MSOffice Language Settings.

Does anyone have any experience with this problem? Are the Language versions of Word 2003 insurmountable obstacles?

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks
    I'm no Word programmer, but I'd do something like this:

Add code to the document's ThisDocument object in the Visual Basic Editor:
    Code:
    Private Sub Document_Open()
    	ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes = True
    	Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
    	Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting
    	With Selection.Find
    		.Text = "STYLEREF ""English Name Of Style"
    		.Replacement.Text = "STYLEREF ""French Name Of Style"
    'Or vice versa!
    		.Forward = True
    		.Wrap = wdFindAsk
    		.Format = False
    		.MatchCase = False
    		.MatchWholeWord = False
    		.MatchWildcards = False
    		.MatchSoundsLike = False
    		.MatchAllWordForms = False
    		.Execute Replace:=wdReplaceAll
    	End With
    	ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes = False
    	Me.Fields.Update
    End Sub
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    Welcome to the Lounge!

Do the users have other differences than the interface language, such as the system settings for date format, decimal separator?

New Lounger
    Thanks