Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi,
    I've got a website built in ASP.net 2.0 that is running on our company server. The server is SBS 2008 standard edition. The webfiles are all stored in C:\web\SECTHW on the server. I've configured the company server to look to this directory and set up SECTHW as the default web. I've put a shortcut on the companyweb homepage to the default page for the SECTHW web. It opens fine on the server. My problem is that when I go to use the link from a user desktop the I get an error that says the page cannot be found. It doesn't seem possible to me that I should need to put the web files on all of the local computers. I'd have to shoot myself! What am I missing? This is the first local web I've set up.

    Thanks,
    Leesha

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    The link is something like http://servername/folder/default.aspx ?

    Could it be a security issue?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    The link is something like http://servername/folder/default.aspx ?

    the link is http://localhost/default.aspx. I tried your path up above with our info but that didn't work either. I don't think its security issues as we log in using windows authentication to ge the company intranet and that works fine. If I log directly on the server it opens up fine from the companyweb main page. The error I'm getting is a 404 error but even after googling it and following some of the info on the links I coudln't get past it. Ultimately I'd love to bypass the "companyweb" completely and have the default.aspx for the default web open up. Do you know how to do that?

    Thanks!
    Leesha

    Could it be a security issue?

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Localhost means the machine on which I'm currently executing. So, it will work on your server but no other machine. Try substituting your server name for localhost - i.e. http://servername/default.aspx

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi,
    Tried putting in local server and still not luck. To make matters worse in doing this I added links as well as items to the company web and now can't get rid of them. I'd kill to just get rid of this page and have my page load. Is that possible and if so how do I point to it vs this stupid company web page?
    Thanks,
    Leesha

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Leesha View Post
    To make matters worse in doing this I added links as well as items to the company web and now can't get rid of them. I'd kill to just get rid of this page and have my page load. Is that possible and if so how do I point to it vs this stupid company web page?
    Regarding the company web, I would only be guessing at how you add or edit information. Is it a page you edit and upload? Or is it part of a wiki or content management system that you edit in the browser?

    If the company web server supports ASP.Net, you could create a new folder and copy your application there. If it is outside the existing web site, you probably will need to use the IIS MMC snap-in to set it up. If it is a folder within the existing web site, there's a good chance it will "just work." I suggest lots of testing before redirect any existing page to the new one(s).

    == Edit ==

    I may be confused. If the company web server is outside and the ASP.net application is meant to be accessible only from inside, then never mind about the copying idea.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    Regarding the company web, I would only be guessing at how you add or edit information. Is it a page you edit and upload? Or is it part of a wiki or content management system that you edit in the browser?

    Actually it is the web that is on the agency server and is installed when the server OS is installed. Is't a sharepoint web. It allows the users to add links etc. It took me hours to find how to delete them.

    >>If the company web server supports ASP.Net, you could create a new folder and copy your application there. If it is outside the existing web site, you probably will need to use the IIS MMC snap-in to set it up. If it is a folder within the existing web site, there's a good chance it will "just work." I suggest lots of testing before redirect any existing page to the new one(s).

    I've searched and searched as well as googled the topic for hours and can't find where this sharepoint web is. The site that I need to let the users get to is set up as the default web on our server. I finally got it to open from the link by putting in the remote desktop path that I use to get in from home, followed by the name of the folder that the website is in then the homepage name. That works as long as the user the remotes into the server. If they try to open up the link from the "companyweb" (which their IE automatically defaults to when they click in on their workstations) the link won't work. I'm assuming its because they aren't actually logged in remotely to the server at that point, but just to their workstations. It's a poor fix, but its a start.

    == Edit ==

    Leesha

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    SharePoint uses a combination of file system and database to build web pages. The file system "stuff" resides in C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Web Server Extensions\12\ and C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\wss\VirtualDirectories\sharepoint-site-name. I would strongly recommend you not mess with SharePoint web files manually. SharePoint is a very complex combination of technologies that you can easily break by not using the correct tools.

    Just to be clear, when you try to access your website from a workstation you get a 404 error correct?

    Have you checked the site settings in IIS Manage?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post
    >>SharePoint uses a combination of file system and database to build web pages. The file system "stuff" resides in C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Web Server Extensions\12\ and C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\wss\VirtualDirectories\sharepoint-site-name.


    Thanks for giving me the location. I don't want to mess with the Sharepoint files, but would just like to add code to redirects the url to the the default page I built to open vs the companyweb page openning.


    >>Just to be clear, when you try to access your website from a workstation you get a 404 error correct?

    This is correct. The IIS settings "appear" ok. The issue only happens when they use the link from the companyweb page that they open directly on their workstation. If they remote in to view the company intranet website, the link on the companyweb works.

    <<Have you checked the site settings in IIS Manage?

    Are you asking if I checked the IIS on each individual workstatin? If so no and it would be an issue if I have to configure each workstation. I've only worked with the IIS on the server.

    Leesha

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I did not mean checking IIS on each workstation. It is IIS on the server that is the controlling entity. So, you need to check your web site properties and directory right rights in IIS.

    If you are trying to modify the SharePoint web page you should do that from within SharePoint. You want to use Site Actions | Edit web page. You should be able to add a links web part where you can add your links as needed.

    If you do not have permission to modify the web page check with your SharePoint admin.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •