Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've just downloaded IE8 under XP pro, keeping Google as my homepage.
    What I had on the top of my screen before was:

    1. Menu bar
    2. Standard toolbar
    3. AVG toolbar
    4. Google toolbar
    ........ for a total of 4 lines.

    Now IE's Standard one line toolbar has morphed into 3 fat lines,
    for a new total of 6 lines, with stuff like FREE HOTMAIL and
    other junk. But the main problem is that it shrinks available
    screen size.

    How do I get IE's standard toolbar back?

    Microsoft's Help is no help, but maybe I didn't know how to
    look. I'm a relatively inexperienced computer user.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    You can win back some real estate by turning off the Menu Bar (right-click a toolbar and click on Menu Bar in the popup menu to toggle its visibility). Same for the Favorites Bar.
    All functionality of the menu bar is duplicated by the Command Bar that fits nicely in the bar that contains the tabs.
    Also make sure that you don't use large icons (right-click a toolbar, and click on Use Large Icons to toggle this setting)
    Do you really need the AVG toolbar?


  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Welcome to the Lounge.

    Do you mean the Favorites bar? IEBlog : The IE8 Favorites Bar

    If so:
    Right-click on the IE toolbar.
    In the context menu remove the checkmark at Favorites Bar.

    You can use the context menu to add and remove the usual items, like menu bar etc.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    You can win back some real estate by turning off the Menu Bar (right-click a toolbar and click on Menu Bar in the popup menu to toggle its visibility). Same for the Favorites Bar.
    All functionality of the menu bar is duplicated by the Command Bar that fits nicely in the bar that contains the tabs.
    Also make sure that you don't use large icons (right-click a toolbar, and click on Use Large Icons to toggle this setting)
    Do you really need the AVG toolbar?
    Thanks for your post, Hans. I tried deleting the Menu Bar but its functions don't appear in my Command bar. I hope I'm doing this right. Perhaps my bar layout is different from yours.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    You can win back some real estate by turning off the Menu Bar (right-click a toolbar and click on Menu Bar in the popup menu to toggle its visibility). Same for the Favorites Bar.
    All functionality of the menu bar is duplicated by the Command Bar that fits nicely in the bar that contains the tabs.
    Also make sure that you don't use large icons (right-click a toolbar, and click on Use Large Icons to toggle this setting)
    Do you really need the AVG toolbar?
    My apologies, Hans. I see that most of the functions ARE duplicated in the Command Bar, although it looks somewhat ackward to use after years of using the Menu Bar.

    At any rate, I've deleted the Favorites Bar, although Favorites still appears on the Command Bar line.

    I now have 5 lines, as follows:

    1. Address Bar
    2. Menu Bar
    3. Google Taskbar
    4. Command Bar
    5. AVG Taskbar

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Argus View Post
    Welcome to the Lounge.

    Do you mean the Favorites bar? IEBlog : The IE8 Favorites Bar

    If so:
    Right-click on the IE toolbar.
    In the context menu remove the checkmark at Favorites Bar.

    You can use the context menu to add and remove the usual items, like menu bar etc.
    Okay. great. I see that the Context Menu is an alternate way to toggle the various bars off and on.
    Thanks, Argus.

    I would still like to be able to get a cleaner group of taskbars -- seems like bloat to me. There is some information about this on the site IETips.net, but not quite what I want. But they at least recognize the problem.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I have done away with the third-party toolbars and now have only two rows at the top of the IE8 window:

    1) The address bar with the built-in search bar
    2) The bar with the tabs, and with the command bar on the right hand side.

    The menu bar can be invoked by pressing Alt but I find I never use it any more.


  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    I have done away with the third-party toolbars and now have only two rows at the top of the IE8 window:

    1) The address bar with the built-in search bar
    2) The bar with the tabs, and with the command bar on the right hand side.

    The menu bar can be invoked by pressing Alt but I find I never use it any more.
    Thanks, Hans. I'll give this a try, but I do find the the AVG toolbar
    useful for warning me off certain sites. Experience will tell.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •