Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I find that Username, UserAddress, and UserInitials are very handy fields to have. Does anyone know of any way to create and store for permanent use another field? UserPhone and UserFax, for instance.

    Many thanks,

    Ann

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    File > Properties > Custom
    Enter the name of your field
    Select a type (Text, Date, Number, Yes or No)
    Enter the Value
    Click Add
    OK

    To use this you put a DocProperty field where you want the text to appear.

    Edited to add
    I have just noticed the word Permanent in your question. Sadly, adding a custom property to Normal.dot does not make it available to all documents.

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Ann,

    Stuart says that documents don't inherit custom properties from normal.dot. While I cannot vouch for that at the moment, I can cofirm that documents based on custom templates do inherit custom properties from it. I thought that I remembered using custom properties in this fashion as far back as Word 97, and I just confirmed, by test, that it works in Word XP.
    David Gray, Chief Wizard
    WizardWrx
    Irving, Texas, USA

    WizardWrx Web - Technical Articles and Free Software
    You are more important than any technology we may employ.

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    I have just tested this with Word 2007 SP2 using a custom document property in Normal.dotm, it did not make the custom document property available to a new document.

    It was so hard to do this in Word 2007 that I thought it might be worth sharing the details.

    • Click the Office button > Prepare > Properties
    • At the top left of the Properties pane click the small arrow to the right of Document Properties
    • Select Advanced properties
    • Then select the Custom tab on the properties dialog box


    [attachment=87652:Properties.png]
    [attachment=87651:CustomProperties.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    This seems to be the Way of Word 2007; in an attempt to avoid confusing the supposed hordes of new users, Microsoft has made the "advanced" features almost inaccessible to "old" users. From the little I've seen to date of Word 2007, I suspect that adding custom properties to any document requires the same steps.

    Therefore, thank you very much for sharing them with the rest of us.

    Given the depth of their market penetration, I wonder where Microsoft expects to find these hordes of new users.
    David Gray, Chief Wizard
    WizardWrx
    Irving, Texas, USA

    WizardWrx Web - Technical Articles and Free Software
    You are more important than any technology we may employ.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by StuartR View Post
    It was so hard to do this in Word 2007 that I thought it might be worth sharing the details.
    This is definitely worth putting on the Quick Access Toolbar, to avoid having to go through all those steps every time!

    Gary

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary Frieder View Post
    This is definitely worth putting on the Quick Access Toolbar, to avoid having to go through all those steps every time!
    ...
    I can't find anything suitable in the list of commands that can be added to the QAT. But it is a very long list so I may have missed something.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Word Options > Customize, change 'Choose commands from' dropdown to 'All Commands'. 'Properties' should then appear in the alpha-ordered list.

    Gary

  10. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary Frieder View Post
    Word Options > Customize, change 'Choose commands from' dropdown to 'All Commands'. 'Properties' should then appear in the alpha-ordered list.
    Thanks, I had found "Document Properties" but this just allows you to insert one of the predefined properties from a drop down.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •