Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks
    I have installed W7 Pro over XP Pro and then deleted the 'old files'. Didn't need them.
    I use a Gigabyte UD3 P45 motherboard.
    Also use an UPS that is set to turn off the pc after a few minutes in the event of a power outage.
    Every time I start or restart W7 the UAC pop up tells me that Gigabyte is trying to change something. I click yes.
    My question is simple. How do I give permanent permission to programs one at a time?
    When I go into UAC control all I see is the ability to change permissions for everything via a slide bar.
    I don't want UAC blocking my UAC if I'm not home during a power outage.
    There just has to be a way of doing this one program at a time.
    I'm a novice and have almost no W7 experience.
    Thanks.
    J.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by jst42daytoo View Post
    I have installed W7 Pro over XP Pro and then deleted the 'old files'. Didn't need them.
    Also use an UPS that is set to turn off the pc after a few minutes in the event of a power outage.
    Every time I start or restart W7 the UAC pop up tells me that Gigabyte is trying to change something. I click yes.
    My question is simple. How do I give permanent permission to programs one at a time?
    When I go into UAC control all I see is the ability to change permissions for everything via a slide bar.
    Thanks.
    J.
    Welcome to the Lounge!!

Using Windows Explorer try this: find the .exe file, right click and select Properties. Click on the compatability tab and the check "Run this program as an administrator".

Joe

New Lounger
    Thanks
    I go into Windows Explorer, double click on C disk and I see one of the programs I'm looking for.
    Right click on it and I get many options but none of them is a compatibility tab. I browsed through the tabs I see after right clicking and do not see any compatibility tab.
    Thanks.
    J

Thanks
    Thanks.
    J.