Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When I installed Office XP Professional with Front Page, I installed only Microsoft Word. Now I want to install another of the programs (but not the complete program). I receive attachments calling for the slide show but when I try to open the attachment I get the notice that the program that opens it has not been installed.

    My problem is, how do I install Power Point after Office XP has been installed? I could remove Office XP and reinstall but I think there's an easier way to do this.

    I don't remember asking for help with this before, but if I have, please forgive me.


    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duchess843 View Post
    I don't remember asking for help with this before, but if I have, please forgive me.
    Try this previous occasion from September...

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Select Start | Control Panel.
    Open the Add/Remove Programs control panel.
    Scroll down the list until you see Microsoft Office XP Professional and click on it.
    You should see two buttons: Change and Remove.
    Click the Change button, and wait until the Windows Installer dialog has finished loading Microsoft Office XP Setup.
    Select "Add or Remove Components", then click Next >.
    Click on Microsoft PowerPoint for Windows, and select "Run from this computer" from the dropdown menu.]
    Click Update.
    You will probably have to insert your Office XP CD.

    When the installation has finished, visit Microsoft Update and click Custom to get updates for PowerPoint.


  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Leif View Post
    Try this previous occasion from September...
    Thanks Leif, I faintly remembered asking for help once before but a search did not reveal the post. In the post you referred to, I said I had followed your instructions and everything was fine. That I Don't remember doing but I will this time. As you now know everything is Not fine at the moment.

    Thanks again.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duchess843 View Post
    ... but a search did not reveal the post.
    Advanced search and...

    [attachment=86454:x4.gif]

    ...was all it took
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    When you do this this time, install ALL of Office and you will have the tools that you paid for.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveA View Post
    ....install ALL of Office and you will have the tools that you paid for....
    Paid for or not, I wouldn't install Clippy even if I was offered my complete purchase price back....

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    Select Start | Control Panel.
    Open the Add/Remove Programs control panel.
    Scroll down the list until you see Microsoft Office XP Professional and click on it.
    You should see two buttons: Change and Remove.
    Click the Change button, and wait until the Windows Installer dialog has finished loading Microsoft Office XP Setup.
    Select "Add or Remove Components", then click Next >.
    Click on Microsoft PowerPoint for Windows, and select "Run from this computer" from the dropdown menu.]
    Click Update.
    You will probably have to insert your Office XP CD.

    When the installation has finished, visit Microsoft Update and click Custom to get updates for PowerPoint.
    Gee Hans, your instructions worked like a charm. I now have 2 shortcuts for PowerPoint (is that all I should have)?

    I had save one of the emails that opened with PowerPoint and the slideshow was visible. My CD was required and the files loaded.

    Thank you for your clear instructions, this time the problem has been fixed. Now I'm going to Microsoft Update to get the updates.


    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Leif View Post
    Advanced search and...

    [attachment=86454:x4.gif]

    ...was all it took

    I'm not used to using Search in this new configuration that's why it didn't work. I think I understand how to use it now.

    Thanks for the clear instructions, I'm sure that this is a lesson for all other posters as well.


    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveA View Post
    When you do this this time, install ALL of Office and you will have the tools that you paid for.
    I don't think so Dave,

    I have no use for all those other programs, so why take up space for programs I don't use and never will? Besides the last time I installed all of the programs, I had to update zillions (it seemed like) of updates that were of no use to me.

    Paid for or not, if a program is of no use, why install it? For instance, all of those toolbars that come bottled in programs I paid for which I do not install. If they install anyway, they're removed.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •