Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: WinME&DOS

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pa, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WinME&DOS

    I am running WinME and have an old communications program (DOS) that I use to access a controller.
    It is a proprietary type program, so the name is not important. The problem is that it will not talk to Com2 through a DOS window. The program will start in a window but does not communicate. I have tried all the settings in a DOS window but to no avail. I am running a Dell 933mhz with only one com port. Iam using a USB to RS-232 adapter to provide a Com2 port.
    Has anyone any ideas on how to make it "talk" ??
    Tim

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    Not clear about your use of an adaptor card to provide a second COM port. The easiest way to add a COM port is through Add New Hardware and selecting new hardware from a list. Does COM2 show up in Device Manager now?

    Did your program work previously from the DOS window? Your problem may simply be a WinMe/DOS incompatibility. Me and 2000 are not really aimed at users still running 'legacy' DOS software.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pa, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    Since the Dell came with only 1 com port, i used a usb-serial adapter to get another serial port. com2 shows up in device mngr and does work with other equip. the program is the problem (old dos). wondering if someone has a workaround for running dos in win me ?
    thanks for your reply.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    Only one workaround I know of. If you ask Dell nicely, they might swap Me for '98. Have heard of them doing this in the past.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    Look who didn't log out again! It's easy to see the login name if you start at the Main Index, but not if you go straight to the post from email. I don't suppose this problem comes up for most people, but I would prefer to see the 'Hello,(xxxx)' greeting on all pages.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pa, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    Thanks for the idea but I am not about to abandon an operating system because of it. If I don't find a solution then I will be forced to use an old computer to do those functions.
    Tim

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    actually, I quite specifically did log out! I'll stick to using my laptop in future.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    I don't suppose you can simply swap the controller with whatever is currently using COM1?
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    You logged off on Me, but not on Win2k - or was it vice versa?
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pa, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    Rory, Swapping out the com ports will not do the trick. As everyone seems to be telling me, it is a function (or MS bug) that WinME can not talk to a com port using DOS (legacy) window. I have the same problem at work (using Win2K) and trying to do the same thing. I know....DOS is DEAD ! I guess I will have to hire a software writer to make the old program work under the newer operating systems. Unless someone comes up with more ideas, we can kill this subject (or just retire it for posterity).
    Tim

  11. #11
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    Hi Tim,
    The reason I asked was because you're using a USB to serial converter and ME does not, as far as I know, enable USB devices in Real (MSDOS) mode, so this may be part of the problem. You might also want to check <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/directory/article.asp?ID=KB;EN-US;Q252184>this article</A> to see if it's relevant (a quick way to see if it might help is to open a dos window and type:
    mode com2 19200
    and see if you get an error)
    You never know....
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pa, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinME&DOS

    hi rory. well, from a dos window the following comes up when asking about com ports:
    i typed 'mode com1' and the response was: Status for Device Com1
    Retry = none
    i typed 'mode com2' and the response was: Status for Device Com2
    Retry = none
    i typed ' mode com3' and the response was: Illegal device
    so, it seems that the usb adapter is recognized by WinME as a com port, so now it is the program's problem and not the operating system.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •