Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi,
    I'm using MS Access 2000 and I need to move the column names to the first row of data in a table.
    Some of the column names will be longer than 64 characters which is the max for Access.
    The table will eventually be exported to excel with a wide and tall first row.(clients request)
    I've shortened the names to a 2 digit code that after moved to the first row, will be updated with the longer names.
    I just need some guidance on how to do this. The table doesn't have static names and will be generated on the fly depending on what parameters the user selects.

    Thanks for any help,
    Scott

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ready4data View Post
    I need to move the column names to the first row of data in a table.
    Some of the column names will be longer than 64 characters which is the max for Access.
    I don't understand your description. "the column names" of what?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    I don't understand your description. "the column names" of what?
    Hans,
    Sorry, I'm speaking ot the field names in the table.

    Scott

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    But if they're field names in an existing table, how can they be longer than 64 characters?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ready4data View Post
    I'm using MS Access 2000 and I need to move the column names to the first row of data in a table.
    ...
    Why do you need to do this? The Access export to Excel routines normally include the field names of the table (or query) as the first row of data that gets output to an Excel file. We really need more detailed information to be able to help you.
    Wendell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •