Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi,

    I have Windows XP. I would like to know if there is an ideal size for the java cache. If there is, what is that size?

    Thank you. Have a wonderful Holiday season.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    According to Dumping Java cache improves browser performance, you should set it to a value between 100 MB and 200 MB.


  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    According to Dumping Java cache improves browser performance, you should set it to a value between 100 MB and 200 MB.
    It would be interesting to know what programs actually use Java - so we could see whether we actually needed to have it installed at all!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    You can have Java place an icon in the system tray (aka notification area) when it's active:

    [attachment=86711:x.png]

    This might give you a clue whether Java is used at all, and by what.

    There are websites that use the Java plugin; I see the icon from time to time.

    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (6.1 KB, 0 views)

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    It would be interesting to know what programs actually use Java - so we could see whether we actually needed to have it installed at all!
    Would not clicking the View... button in the General Tab of the Java Control Panel tell you something about this?

    Chris

  6. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wartaaids View Post
    Would not clicking the View... button in the General Tab of the Java Control Panel tell you something about this?
    On my machine, it just gives you "About" information...

    I thought that once a program had loaded Java, the icon stayed in the System Information Area, even after program termination?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    I thought that once a program had loaded Java, the icon stayed in the System Information Area, even after program termination?
    No, on my PC the Java icon disappears with the application.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    On my machine, it just gives you "About" information...

    I thought that once a program had loaded Java, the icon stayed in the System Information Area, even after program termination?
    That confuses me. I get the this dialog:

    [attachment=86727:jcb.jpg]

    I'm not clear how you can change the settings for the Temporary Internet files without seeing this?

    Chris
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by wartaaids View Post
    That confuses me. I get the this dialog:

    [attachment=86727:jcb.jpg]

    I'm not clear how you can change the settings for the Temporary Internet files without seeing this?

    Chris
    Click on the "Settings..." button in the Temporary Internet Files section ?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rebel View Post
    Click on the "Settings..." button in the Temporary Internet Files section ?
    Sorry, my statement was not clear. My intent was to ask BATcher how he was able to change these settings if, as he appeared to indicate, the only button he sees in this dialog box is the About one.

    Chris

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by wartaaids View Post
    Sorry, my statement was not clear. My intent was to ask BATcher how he was able to change these settings if, as he appeared to indicate, the only button he sees in this dialog box is the About one.

    Chris
    Ahhhh . . . . .
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    According to Dumping Java cache improves browser performance, you should set it to a value between 100 MB and 200 MB.
    Thanks, HansV. 100 MB to 200 MB it is. Also, thanks to everyone who responded to this post; interesting, informative.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •