Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Corpus Christi, TX USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I used to be able to select a hyperlink that someone sent me and see their
    gmail calendar. This would automatically log me into my gmail account
    so I could check my email and calendar there. It now prompts for a gmail
    password.
    I should have a full backup of my system. Does anyone know which
    file would contain my login info for gmail so I can restore it? Any help
    would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Russell Ochs View Post
    I used to be able to select a hyperlink that someone sent me and see their gmail calendar. This would automatically log me into my gmail account so I could check my email and calendar there. It now prompts for a gmail password.
    Presumably the link opens in your default browser. Normally, your browser will send your saved cookies for the domain, and this will let you into the site. Either your Google cookies are being cleared, or the particular domain does not match, or for extra security, you are being required to log in again even though the site recognizes you for many other purposes (similar to the extra login for View My Orders on Amazon.com).

    Does that make sense?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Corpus Christi, TX USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    Presumably the link opens in your default browser. Normally, your browser will send your saved cookies for the domain, and this will let you into the site. Either your Google cookies are being cleared, or the particular domain does not match, or for extra security, you are being required to log in again even though the site recognizes you for many other purposes (similar to the extra login for View My Orders on Amazon.com).

    Does that make sense?
    Yes it does - I think I recently cleared my cookies........ I will check that.

    Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •