Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Does anyone have experience of GlaryUtilities? It includes both a registry cleaner and a registry defrag. Any comments on the usefulness or otherwise of these particular tools?

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks
    I have no experience with this program. It might well contain useful components, but in the product overview my eye was struck by

"Memory Optimizer
    Monitors and optimizes free memory in the background"
    All recent versions of Windows have memory management built-in, a third-party utility that interferes with this will probably have a negative effect.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    So called memory optimizers defeat the purpose of Windows memory management. The way they "optimize" memory is usually to request a large amount of memory causing Windows to determine which parts of memory are available to be freed and then free the RAM. In addition to just freeing RAM the request could cause page file usage. One of the tenents of Windows memory management is that users tend to do the same tasks over and over. Therefore, Windows does not release memory until it needs to thus when a user requests a program or function that was used relatively recently there is a good chance it is already in RAM and does not have to be loaded from disk.

Anything that requires disk usage such as page file access or loading a program is extremely slow compared to RAM access.

BTW, I had Glary Utilities installed for a while some time ago. I found I NEVER used the program beyond looking at it when I first installed it.

Joe
    Joe

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post