Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanarkshire, Scotland
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Hi
    Have an intermittent problem when booting up my pc. At bootup there is a message about not finding my profiles and the pc begins a countdown and boots into a basic screen with some icons and a message "Take a tour of Windows". Windows explorer is empty with none of my files and I am unable to see "my" installed programs. At this stage I re-start my pc and everything then shows and works fine. The last time this happened, about 3 weeks ago, I contacted my local pc shop and he advised that it was probably my hard drive causing the problem and suggested a replacement. I reluctantly left my pc to have the hard drive cloned to the new one he installed, as I could not face re-installing Windows and lose all my settings.
    The pc worked fine at every bootup until today when the problem appeared again!
    My os is WindowsXP sp2.
    Has anyone experienced this problem and is there an easy fix?
    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    This is an unusual issue and I don't believe there is an "easy fix".

    Have you run scans with your AV software and anti-malware software to rule out infections ?? Run System File Checker to rule out corrupt files causing this ?? Check Disk to rule out Hard drive issues ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Do you have another "Admin" user account on this machine, if so try logging into it and BACKUP all of your data.

    If this other account works, then it would appear that your user account is corrupt.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanarkshire, Scotland
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Thanks guys - I have run file and computer scans with Kaspersky, which shows no problems. How do I run a system file checker & check disk? I have a guest account but all my personal files are backed up regularly to another pc. I don''t know when the problem is next going to happen and could be days or weeks, but simply restarting the pc solves temporarily.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    For system file checker use : Start>Run> type scf /scannow
    For check disk use : Start>Run> type chkdsk /f
    Francois

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanarkshire, Scotland
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Received a message :
    Cannot lock current drive
    Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. would you like this volume to be checked the next the system restarts (Y/N).

    Should I proceed with Y

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobjacq View Post
    Should I proceed with Y
    Yes, and reboot the PC
    Francois

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanarkshire, Scotland
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Thanks shall give that a try.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanarkshire, Scotland
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Just tried to bootup my second home pc which is networked to the pc I was having a problem with and lo and behold it did the exactly the same thing. Restarted and problem gone (until next time). Does this mean that it is not a hard disk problem or does it indicate something else? I have broadband & a Linskys router networked to this second pc.
    Any further thoughts.
    Cheers

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobjacq View Post
    Just tried to bootup my second home pc which is networked to the pc I was having a problem with and lo and behold it did the exactly the same thing. Restarted and problem gone (until next time). Does this mean that it is not a hard disk problem or does it indicate something else? I have broadband & a Linskys router networked to this second pc.
    Hmmm, interesting development - both PCs, huh? Having been the recent "victim" of a failing Linksys router, but not knowing how IT could be causing these strange bootup problems, it might be worth a test to connect one of the computers directly to the web, bypassing the router. I know, that might be a long, drawn out process, given the sporadic nature of the occurrence. But it might be worth a try.

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanarkshire, Scotland
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Shall bear that in mind BigAl. I can put up with an occasional reboot but if it develops into regular occurrences I shall delve further, although I am really only a software user and not really tech minded. Thanks

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobjacq View Post
    Shall bear that in mind BigAl. I can put up with an occasional reboot but if it develops into regular occurrences I shall delve further, although I am really only a software user and not really tech minded. Thanks
    I used to see a temporary profile built regularly on XP SP2 machines. It seemed to have something to do with booting and not logging in for a while but having some automatically started service that needed a resource that required a login. I know that is somewhat ambiguous but I never could track it down. Plus it seemed to disappear somtime after SP-3 was installed. I can't say exactly when because I never worried about it knowing that a reboot fixed it and login fixed it.

    OTOH, you could have a corrupted user profile and neeed to build a new one. A new profile can cause its own set of issues.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanarkshire, Scotland
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Thanks Joe, I have now thought about upgrading from Windows XP SP2 to SP3 but remember reading in Windows Secrets Newsletter (Sept 2008) to leave installation in the meantime. Is it okay to upgrade now?
    I believe there were issues at the time and had to ensure KB953356 was installed first. Is that still the case and should I uninstall IE7, which I am running, before install? Believe you cannot uninstall IE7 or IE8 after SP3 is installed. Also appears that I may need to uninstall Kaspersky and reinstall after SP3.
    Any further advice.
    Cheers

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobjacq View Post
    Thanks Joe, I have now thought about upgrading from Windows XP SP2 to SP3 but remember reading in Windows Secrets Newsletter (Sept 2008) to leave installation in the meantime. Is it okay to upgrade now?
    I believe there were issues at the time and had to ensure KB953356 was installed first. Is that still the case and should I uninstall IE7, which I am running, before install? Believe you cannot uninstall IE7 or IE8 after SP3 is installed. Also appears that I may need to uninstall Kaspersky and reinstall after SP3.
    Any further advice.
    Cheers
    SP3 has been available since May 2008 and I believe that the initial installation problems have been resolved. Error message after you upgrade a computer that uses a processor other than an Intel processor to Windows XP Service Pack 2 or to Windows XP Service Pack 3: "STOP: 0x0000007E" (AKA - KB953356) is only needed if you do not have an Intel processor. Since you already have IE7 installed, if you are OK with it leave it alone. After installing SP3 I recommend you install IE8. In my experience IE8 is faster and more stable than IE7.

    I have always had the best luck with service packs by downloading the full verison rather than letting Windows Update determine which parts I need. Download details: Windows XP Service Pack 3 Network Installation Package for IT Professionals and Developers is the full version. Don't be dissuaded by the title.

    I do not know about a need to uninstall Kaspersky. It may be that disabling Kaspersky may be good enough. If uninstalling Kaspersky is the suggested best way then I recommend you download the full SP3 version, disconnect from the internet, uninstall Kaspersky, install SP3, reinstall Kaspersky, re-connect to the internet.

    Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanarkshire, Scotland
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Thanks for the comprehensive reply and as I have an AMD Sempron processor would it do any harm to install the KB953356 patch before I go ahead with the installation of SP3 rather than wait for a conflict ? Oh and should I uninstall IE7 before installing SP3. What do you think?

    Just went to the Microsoft web site to download SP3 but was NOT given the option to save the file to a folder of my choice ( see attachment). Where is the file being downloaded to? I immediately turned off the pc in the hope that the download does not continue upon restart as I really only want to install at a time of my choosing.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •