Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Bernardino, California, USA
    Posts
    734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Having just upgraded to Win 7, I come to work and open my Access database only to find that code is not working... such as afterupdate events. How do i correct this?

    When I do Alt-F11, the code is still there but does not seem to be connected to the DB.

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I suppose you have Access 2007
    Go to Access Options, Trust Center, Trust Center Settings... , Macro Settings.
    What is the Macro Setting ? Mine is set to Enable all macros. If you have to change it, you have to restart Acces for activate the new setting.

    [attachment=86789:TrustCenter.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Francois

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    San Bernardino, California, USA
    Posts
    734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you so much - that was exactly the problem.

    Quote Originally Posted by Francois Caron View Post
    I suppose you have Access 2007
    Go to Access Options, Trust Center, Trust Center Settings... , Macro Settings.
    What is the Macro Setting ? Mine is set to Enable all macros. If you have to change it, you have to restart Acces for activate the new setting.

    [attachment=86789:TrustCenter.jpg]

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Don_Sadler View Post
    Thank you so much - that was exactly the problem.
    Not wanting to steal a thread, but this is a related issue.
    I have just updated a Laptop to WIN 7.
    I have Access 2003 running on it.
    I have also got Access 2007 running on it.

    Under XP I never had any issues, indeed I have a PC running XP and both Access 2003 and Access 2007.
    I have another running the same combination under Vista
    This laptop had both running under Vista.

    This is NOT 2 versions of office. Office 2007 with Access, plus also Access 2003.
    This is because I have to be able to use 2 versions of Access for different projects.

    All went well until Windows 7 (Ultimate).

    Now Access 2007 is fine on everything...
    BUT.. Access 2003 databases crash when I try to go into the VBE from a forms events.
    I can get to it directly from the VBE.
    When some forms are opened, they crash with various messages.

    If I decompile and then recompile it makes NO difference.

    IF I run a repair on the Access 2003 installation, the problem goes away for a while and then comes back,
    after a recompile.

    Has anyone encountered this behavior other than me?

    Has anyone got a fix if they have.
    Andrew

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    I am puzzled by two aspects of this thread- the original part, not Andrew's supplementary.

    Don
    • Did you simultaneously upgrade to Win 7 and Office 2007? or was this caused by just upgrading to Win 7?
    • Usually, with Office 2007, code not running (as distinct from Macros) is caused by not using a Trusted Location, rather than the Macro Settings.
    Having not even seen Win 7 yet, I am just wondering whether whether these are win 7 issues.
    Regards
    John



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Andrew

    I don't have an answer. I use a Vista machine with both Office 2007 and Office 2003, for the same reason as you.
    I think I need to get a Win 7 machine, so I know what it looks like, and so I can say :"Yes it works with Win 7."
    But I would install the full Office 2003 (as well as 2007). Is that an option you can try?

    John
    Regards
    John



  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by johnhutchison View Post
    Andrew

    I don't have an answer. I use a Vista machine with both Office 2007 and Office 2003, for the same reason as you.
    I think I need to get a Win 7 machine, so I know what it looks like, and so I can say :"Yes it works with Win 7."
    But I would install the full Office 2003 (as well as 2007). Is that an option you can try?

    John
    I could, and probably will.
    Although I have found that it seems to prefer Office 2007 being installed after 2003 rather than the other way round.


    At the moment I only have Access 2003 and Excel 2003 running from Office 2003.
    Strangely VBA in Excel appears unaffected as does editing Access 2003 VBA directly in the Editor.
    Bit if I was to Right Click on a button for example and then choose Build Event, Access and the database just shuts down.

    The other odd behavior is that the Access Databases that just crashes out in 2003, can be opened up
    immediately in 2007 and works fine, without any Compile or Compact and Repair.
    Also that if I do a repair of Office 2003 then Access is ok (for a while).
    Indeed if I take a copy of the same database and open it on a machine with Access 2003 and Access 2007 running under Vista, it is just fine.

    It's one of those problems that might just be a coincidence and will be a swine to track down.

    I will probably do a complete removal of Office 2003 and then Install again.
    It looks like it might be a Patch.

    I'll report back once I've had a bit of a play.

    Andrew

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    359
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Andrew,
    Can both Access 2003 and 2007 co-exist on the same PC?
    Armstrong

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewKKWalker View Post
    Although I have found that it seems to prefer Office 2007 being installed after 2003 rather than the other way round.
    The advice from Microsoft is to always install the earlier version first.
    Regards
    John



  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by armsys View Post
    Hi Andrew,
    Can both Access 2003 and 2007 co-exist on the same PC?
    Armstrong
    It always has until now.
    I actually have one PC running

    Access 2000, Access 2003 and Access 2007.
    They are all fine.
    It is only since Windows 7 that I have had issues.

    I do always install them in Chronological Sequence though.

    eg. 2000 => 2003 => 2007

    I have also had two databases, and even the same database running in
    two versions simultaneously, although obviously in the latter case
    you cannot do design changes unless you are using a Front End / Back End configiration and runing different copies of the FE.
    Andrew

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewKKWalker View Post
    I have also had two databases, and even the same database running in
    two versions simultaneously.
    My Vista machine does not like it if I try to run 2007 and 2003 at the same time. 2007 crashes, then I have to go through the configuration process next time I run it.
    [attachment=86797:config2007.gif]

    I set up a Virtual Machine to allow me to run both at once, but I found it very slow. So I only use 2003 when I really need to.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards
    John



  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by johnhutchison View Post
    My Vista machine does not like it if I try to run 2007 and 2003 at the same time. 2007 crashes, then I have to go through the configuration process next time I run it.
    [attachment=86797:config2007.gif]

    I set up a Virtual Machine to allow me to run both at once, but I found it very slow. So I only use 2003 when I really need to.
    I always get the configuration if I try and run 2003 and 2007.
    Mind you I very very rarely do it, I just posted to say it is possible.
    However, I do NOT get a crash. I have just checked again and it was fine.

    That being said, I hate to think what nasty conflicts might be happening in the registry.
    Andrew

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •