Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    McGregor, Texas, USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am thinking about trying to do a clean install of Windows 7 instead of an upgrade. My question is this: If I do a clean install of Windows 7 but have a partition on the computer that still has the restore feature for Vista, how does that affect the drive and if I had to do a restore, would I be restoring to Windows 7 or back to the Vista since it is on that partition? (Does this make sense?) Also, if I install Windows 7, would I still be able to network into my Vista laptop and share files or would I have to upgrade both? Thanks.

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've heard that installing a new OS can mess up that recovery partition. I just wonder though, doesn't your laptop have some option to create recovery discs? Most Vista laptops have that option since pretty much none of them came with discs. So I would just create those recovery discs and then not worry about it. Then you can wipe that recovery partition and gain a few extra GB's of space too.

    Networking will be fine. I have no problems going between my Vista desktop or even my son's XP desktop through our network in Win7.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, KY
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Debi,

    I use a Dell Laptop x64Bit OS Windows 7 with my Vista Home Premium on the partition for backup, I did a In Place Upgrade, and it went real smooth.
    I keep the Vista on the Partition, and if needed to restore, then it would be Vista Restore, Win 7 Upgrade Again. Until the PC manufacturers come out
    with a better alternative, I am stuck with this method. Good Luck and Enjoy Win 7.

    Mick Barker Sr.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Debi. If you mean by restore that you might wish to return to Vista ( which I cannot even imagine, btw) that should not be a problem. When you do your clean/custom installation of Win7 you will select the partition containing Vista ( C which will leave the recovery partition intact (typically D should you wish to revert to Vista. As Ben said, with recovery media on hand you could actually wipe out the D: partition to reclaim space, but I usually recommend that be left in place for those who are less adventuresome or experienced. Networking with Win7 is easier by far than it has ever been, so file-sharing with your laptop should be a non-issue.

    Carl

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •