Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Coquille, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    When I drop a DeskTop Shortcut on the StartMenu (Windows 7x32) it works fine till I delete the ShortCut from the DeskTop!
    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, Ma
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I right-drag the shortcut to the Start icon, wait for the menu to pop-up, drag it onto the "All Programs", wait for the menu to switch then drag it to the spot I want and release. I select 'Copy' (or 'Move')… It does take the extra click of going to the "All Programs" list, but I can safely delete the desktop shortcut at this point…

    H.T.H.
    mr.Jiggs

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA, USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When you drag the shortcut to the task bar you are creating a shortcut to the shortcut. When you delete the original shortcut the one on the taskbar no longer works because it can't find the shortcut that it references. As Mr. Jiggs said, do it with a right click and drag and choose copy or move. Alternatively you can find the original program in the programs menu, right click it and select pin to taskbar.
    The same thing can happen for example if you try to drag an exe file to another location in the Windows Explorer. It won't copy the file as the default action in to create a shortcut.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,385
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 238 Times in 190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Anthony Fairchild View Post
    When I drop a DeskTop Shortcut on the StartMenu (Windows 7x32) it works fine till I delete the ShortCut from the DeskTop!
    Any suggestions?
    The method you're using is creating a shortcut to the shortcut. That's why it quits working when you delete the shortcut on the desktop. Mr. Jiggs suggestion will actually copy (or move) the shortcut.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Coquille, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Mr Jiggs is right... the shortcut will be adderd to the "all programs" Start Menu, but I'm trying to get it on the Main Menu.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    On my Windows 7, when I drag a shortcut and drop it on the Start button, it creates a pinned item at the top of the main Start menu. If I delete the shortcut from the desktop, the pinned item still works for me. To remove the pinned item I right click on the icon in the start menu and choose 'Unpin from Start Menu'

    NH

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Port Ludlow, Washington, USA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The mechanism of adding an item to the Start->All Programs menu without creating a shortcut to a shortcut is fairly simple and unchanged from Win 95 (Win 3?) thru Win 7. The Start>All Programs menu is created dynamically each time you access it. You simply create a shortcut on your desktop and then move it to one of two folders. For shortcuts that you want to have available on Start->All Programs for all user accounts, that folder is "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu" or "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs". With only a single account, Windows uses these two folders when you install a new program; you should use this even with just one account as you never know when you might create a new user account or activate the Guest account.

    If you have no intention of ever adding a new user account, activate the Guest account, or limit access to a given program for a single user, you place the shortcut in the "C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windo ws\Start Menu" or "C:\Users\Don\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\St art Menu\Programs" folder. Even with multiple user accounts, you could use this folder for some, but not all, user accounts. If a given program shows up both in this folder and that for all users, Windows eliminates the duplicates when it creates the Start->All Programs menu.
    Don Plorde

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    i use a different method to put shortcuts on my taskbar. This allows me to free up the clutter on my desktop.

    I created a new folder called shortcuts in My Documents, then dragged all the desktop Icons for programs into this folder. Next right click on the taskbar, choose toolbars, then new toolbar. Once there point toward the new Shortcut folder and choose Ok. You will now have all these shortcuts in one folder that has a >> to click on to open whatever program you want. You can drag the shortcut back and forth on the task bar to display as much or as little as you want. I keep it so that Shortcut>> is all that is displayed to keep my task bar clear. The >> is the drop down list feature, or to be more precise the drop up in this case.

    To add new programs to the folder simply right click on the taskbar "Shortcut" and choose open. The shortcut folder you created will open to allow more shortcuts to be added.

    This is the easiest way I know to control the clutter on the desktop.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •