Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Why does Kaspersky Anti-Virus want me to uninstall Zone Alarm Pro?

    What has antivirus got to do with a firewall?

    I don't understand why the two are incompatible, someone please explain it to me. Needless to say I refused and stopped the download of Kaspersky. I paid good money for the firewall and was not about to remove it for an antivirus program.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duchess843 View Post
    Why does Kaspersky Anti-Virus want me to uninstall Zone Alarm Pro?
    If there is no overlap of function, it may be an error in KAV's detection for possibly conflicting products.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    If there is no overlap of function, it may be an error in KAV's detection for possibly conflicting products.
    There is no 'overlap' as far as I can see, but there was no option for continuing without the removal of the firewall. It was remove or cancel.

    Therefore I chose to install BitDefender 2010 instead. It wanted to remove Zone Alarm Pro also but there was an option to continue the installation anyway. I closed ZA and the new antivirus program installed. The two look peaceful for now, I hope it stays that way.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northeast Kingdom
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Duchess,

    So is Kaspersky new for you? I'm seriously considering it, as a good friend has suggested it and he loves it... I'm not sold yet- as right now I'm going "bareback" (if you will). But know that I really need more than just the free AVG that I have... I'm just incredibly careful- but was hoping for some more referralls / suggestions.........

    Thanks much

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaysee Ryan View Post
    So is Kaspersky new for you? I'm seriously considering it, as a good friend has suggested it and he loves it... I'm not sold yet- as right now I'm going "bareback" (if you will). But know that I really need more than just the free AVG that I have... I'm just incredibly careful- but was hoping for some more referralls / suggestions.........
    If what you are looking for is anti-virus & anti-malware check out Virus, Spyware & Malware Protection | Microsoft Security Essentials. It is free and light weight. I've been running it at home on three PCs since an early beta version and am pleased with it.

    NOTE: MSE is intended for home use. Microsoft has another product for businesses.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaysee Ryan View Post
    Duchess,

    So is Kaspersky new for you?
    Hi Kaysee, the Duchess actually rejected Kaspersky in favor of Bitdefender, but I am sure there are other Kaspersky users here. I used the Kaspersky Internet Security suite for a year (changed after my license ended) and it worked reasonably well.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaysee Ryan View Post
    Duchess,

    So is Kaspersky new for you? I'm seriously considering it, as a good friend has suggested it and he loves it... I'm not sold yet- as right now I'm going "bareback" (if you will). But know that I really need more than just the free AVG that I have... I'm just incredibly careful- but was hoping for some more referralls / suggestions.........

    Thanks much
    I haven't installed it, changed my mind when it wanted me to remove a program that I purchased. Therefore I have no opinion about it.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post
    If what you are looking for is anti-virus & anti-malware check out Virus, Spyware & Malware Protection | Microsoft Security Essentials. It is free and light weight. I've been running it at home on three PCs since an early beta version and am pleased with it.

    NOTE: MSE is intended for home use. Microsoft has another product for businesses.

    Joe
    Thanks Joe,

    I'll give your suggestion a look-see and install it if it meets my requirements.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've been a satisfied Kaspersky user for 3 years now. I basically run KIS that way I don't have to worry about firewall conflicts from other vendors since KIS has a firewall and everything else I need to keep my system protected.

    Some people do have conflicts with KAV & ZA on there systems, but there are some who use them together without any problems at all. If you want to try ZA with KAV it works best with ZA Pro and you need to install KAV first and then install ZA. It's best to exit KAV while installing ZA so it doesn't give any warnings about incompatability. Add ZA to KAV's trusted application and do the same for KAV in ZA. Use either KAV's or ZA's mail protection component don't use both together, there is a known conflict if you use both together.

    I like ZA and KAV, but to me it's not worth the effort to run them together. If you've ran Kaspersky before you know that when there is a new version release, like from V8 to V9 you have to download then entire program again, the upgrade does not come through the updater and it's best to do a clean install. You would then have to uninstall ZA and reinstall it after installing KAV. That's the part I didn't like, that's one more reason I chose KIS instead of KAV & ZA.

    The most widely used firewalls with KAV are Comodo and Online Armor. They work well with KAV with the least amount of conflicts if any.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Baerum, Norway
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I am also a long term KAV user and the only problem I have had is 'incompatability' between KAV version 736 latest and Secunia PSI ... or so Kaspersky say. Not strictly incompatable but K say that their AV does all that PSI does so the latter is not needed? The only actual problem with having the two softwares on my Vista pc seems to be a very long boot time if both are 'live'.
    Overall I consider KAV to be an excellent product, easy to just leave it to 'do as its designed' and if problems are evident then their tech support is quick.
    CYa Ron
    <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    FYI

    Whenever a security package containing a firewall is installed it is necessary to go into Win's services and stop the running of Win's builtin firewall, then disable it. You'll have connection problems , if this is not performed. This is required to be done from XP through 7.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce Weinstein View Post
    FYI

    Whenever a security package containing a firewall is installed it is necessary to go into Win's services and stop the running of Win's builtin firewall, then disable it. You'll have connection problems , if this is not performed. This is required to be done from XP through 7.
    If you are installing a properly programmed firewall this is NOT necessary and should NOT be done. The third party firewall will communicate with Windows when it is initialized and ready for use so the Windows firewall will be deactivated. You should leave the Windows firewall alone as it protects your PC during the boot process when some networking components are active but the startup programs (i.e. your third party fiewall) have not been started yet.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    KIS and KAV are great. OP are you sure you werent installing the security suite which also has a firewall? That may have been your problem. I had ZA Pro and KAV installed side by side and the installation never made a mention of ZA Pro.

    For Kaysee Ryan and others who are interested in KIS or KAV I compiled a nice little resource for the lounge here. Take a look:

    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/ind...owtopic=769764
    My Laptop Specs
    Asus M50SV-A1, Win7 x64 Pro, 1440x900 WXGA screen, 250Gb Seagate Momentus 5400.4RPM HD with 8Mb Cache, Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 2.5Ghz Processor with 6Mb L2 cache, 3Gbs of RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 9500GS 512Mb GPU, Logitech G5, Saitek X52/ST290 Logitech Precision Gaming Headset

    Looking for firewall, antivirus, or antispyware suggestions. Do some research: Antivirus, Antispyware, and Firewall Research Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •