Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    State of Jefferson, N California, USA
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Win Fax & Scan, fax Setup when selecting fax modem pops up a window with the useless error: "An error occurred. Please try later of contact your administrator." The modem queries fine in TerraTerm and will dial etc. Also will dial from Outlook. Driver search returns as best already installed. Worked fine in Vista & w/build 7100 beta and earlier but not in Home Premium. Any ideas?
    kevin
    --------------------------------------
    ASUS P5Q PRO, Intel Q6600 Core2 Quad CPU, 4GB Corsair RAM, Dual Nvidia 8800GTS Video, Windows 7 64bit

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger zigzag3143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Hi Kevin and welcome

    Have you checked device manager to see if the driver is installed and working correctly?

    Ken J+
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

    Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    State of Jefferson, N California, USA
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ken Johnston View Post
    Hi Kevin and welcome

    Have you checked device manager to see if the driver is installed and working correctly?

    Ken J+
    Yes, and it all reports fine, log file is ok and driver update search returns as best driver already installed.
    --------------------------------------
    ASUS P5Q PRO, Intel Q6600 Core2 Quad CPU, 4GB Corsair RAM, Dual Nvidia 8800GTS Video, Windows 7 64bit

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Martin View Post
    Yes, and it all reports fine, log file is ok and driver update search returns as best driver already installed.
    See if Windows Fax and Scan won't connect to fax helps.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Colonial Heights, VA, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had this exact problem.

    I removed all fax accounts from WFS and deleted the fax printer from Devices and Printers. I also stopped the fax service...(not restart). After all that I was able to open WFS and add a new fax account. Before I was unable to connect to the modem with the message brought up in this case.

    Interestingly enough...I could only choose "I'll choose later." during the automatic answer portion of the account setup wizard.

    I've had nothing but problems with WFS in Win7 so far. Currently I'm unable to send faxes at all. I get the lovely message:

    "The message could not be sent.

    The media is write protected."

    There is a slim amount of search results on this one in Google and Dell won't help me the OS on this brand new computer. Terriffic.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    State of Jefferson, N California, USA
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Still no solution to this issue from MS? It's certainly a weird problem...
    --------------------------------------
    ASUS P5Q PRO, Intel Q6600 Core2 Quad CPU, 4GB Corsair RAM, Dual Nvidia 8800GTS Video, Windows 7 64bit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •