Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Did my usual search thru the Forum and couldn't find exactly what I wanted.

    Trying to print a phone book and need to skip a space on 1st character.


    Aardvark
    Anomaly
    Axe

    Bored
    Bix
    Broad

    etc.

    Thanks in adv ance for any help
    Cheers,
    Andy

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    I assume this is a report in Access.
    Open the report in design view.
    Activate the Sorting and Grouping window.
    Add the field you want to break on.
    Set the Group Header property (in the Sorting and Grouping window) to Yes.
    Set the Group On property to "Prefix characters".
    Set the Group Interval property to 1.
    In the report, adjust the height of the group header section to about one line.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    I assume this is a report in Access.
    Open the report in design view.
    Activate the Sorting and Grouping window.
    Add the field you want to break on.
    Set the Group Header property (in the Sorting and Grouping window) to Yes.
    Set the Group On property to "Prefix characters".
    Set the Group Interval property to 1.
    In the report, adjust the height of the group header section to about one line.
    Good Morning Hans!

    Sorry about my not identifying that it was "Access". I need to be retrained after every posting it would seem.

    And thank you for your answer. Always appreciated.
    Cheers,
    Andy

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    I assume this is a report in Access.
    Open the report in design view.
    Activate the Sorting and Grouping window.
    Add the field you want to break on.
    Set the Group Header property (in the Sorting and Grouping window) to Yes.
    Set the Group On property to "Prefix characters".
    Set the Group Interval property to 1.
    In the report, adjust the height of the group header section to about one line.
    Hans,

    A little more information that I find interesting. If you Group On "Prefix Characters" it does break the names on the first letter. That's the good news. The bad
    news is that it "kills" the ascending sequence of the names within that group:

    Adams
    Anderson
    Audio
    Ankleperson

    Beb
    Bend
    Bond
    Billies
    Beech
    Burns
    Cheers,
    Andy

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    You should also specify that the grouping needs to be sorted as well - if you done that and it doesn't work, then we need to know what version of Access you are seeing this behavior in.
    Wendell

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WendellB View Post
    You should also specify that the grouping needs to be sorted as well - if you done that and it doesn't work, then we need to know what version of Access you are seeing this behavior in.
    Morning Wendel,

    There was no problem with my sort params. In the Sorting & Grouping it was Surname and FirstName, which gives me the incorrect sorting, and when checking the incoming query,
    it's also in Surname & FirstName and displays correctly.

    Here comes the bad news. I'm using Access 2003 (11.8204.8221) SP3

    My guess is that the old SP3 "Improvements" have done me in again. Which means reinstalling and updating using SP2.
    Cheers,
    Andy

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    Hmmm - don't think so. We are running several clients with 2003 SP3 and don't see that kind of behavior. Is it possible to upload a sanitized sample of your DB? If not, what happens if you create a field in the query you are using that takes the first letter of the surname, and you group on that and then sort on the surname at the next level. I would expect that to work for sure. I'm assuming you have a sort on the surname below the group on Prefix characters....
    Wendell

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WendellB View Post
    Hmmm - don't think so. We are running several clients with 2003 SP3 and don't see that kind of behavior. Is it possible to upload a sanitized sample of your DB? If not, what happens if you create a field in the query you are using that takes the first letter of the surname, and you group on that and then sort on the surname at the next level. I would expect that to work for sure. I'm assuming you have a sort on the surname below the group on Prefix characters....
    Hi again Wendel,

    Thanks for responding on this thing. Unfortunately I have to get off the system for tonight, but will be back at it tomorrow and give your suggestion a go.
    Cheers,
    Andy

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    You have to add the relevant field to the Sorting and Grouping window twice. The first instance has Group Header set to Yes, Group On to Prefix characters and Group Interval to 1. The second instance has Group Header (and Group Footer) set to No; it serves to sort the names ascending within each initial letter.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    You have to add the relevant field to the Sorting and Grouping window twice. The first instance has Group Header set to Yes, Group On to Prefix characters and Group Interval to 1. The second instance has Group Header (and Group Footer) set to No; it serves to sort the names ascending within each initial letter.
    Good Morning Hans,

    Now that was really an interesting revelation. Works perfectly. Thanks as always for your attention and help,
    Cheers,
    Andy

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WendellB View Post
    Hmmm - don't think so. We are running several clients with 2003 SP3 and don't see that kind of behavior. Is it possible to upload a sanitized sample of your DB? If not, what happens if you create a field in the query you are using that takes the first letter of the surname, and you group on that and then sort on the surname at the next level. I would expect that to work for sure. I'm assuming you have a sort on the surname below the group on Prefix characters....
    Morning Wendel,

    Thanks to yourself and Hans and your near-identical explanations, I'm back on the road again with a readable listing
    Cheers,
    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •