Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I will be receiving my new Sony Vaio BTO in about a week. This is a rare opportunity to make changes to the OS before I begin loading software. I intend to load Microsoft Office Professional 2007 last, other than that I'm uncertain if there is anything else I should do. Any suggestions?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    LAPTOP DESCRIPTION - VGN-FW590 Configure-to-Order

    Genuine Microsoft® Windows® 7 Ultimate

    Intel® Core&trade 2 Duo Processor P8800 (2.66GHz)
    4GB (2GBx2) DDR2-SDRAM-800
    ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 4650 graphics with 1GB dedicated video RAM
    500GB SATA Hard Disk Drive (5400rpm)
    16.4" VAIO extra-wide HD display (1920x1080)

    Large Capacity Battery (VGP-BPL13)
    Blu-ray Disc™ playback/burning

    Large Capacity Battery (VGP-BPL13)

    Norton Internet Security™ 2009 (3 year subscription)
    No Fresh Start - (decided not to get this)
    Microsoft® Works (wish this didn't come on it - should I remove it first thing?)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    CURRENT SOFTWARE I INTEND TO LOAD (I have checked all of them with Microsoft's Windows Compatibiilty Center to check if they are compatible.)

    Listed in order I intend to load:
    - Drivers for HP 7310 All-In-One LaserJet (Win7 drivers availalbe on HP's site)
    - Microsoft ActiveSync 4.5 (I sync SmartPhone PDA Windows Mobile device with PC)
    - Mobipocket eBook Reader (Mobipocket site says compatible)
    - Guild Wars (users say running well on Win7)
    - Saitek Gaming Pad (USB Peripheral)
    - Microsoft Office Professional 2007

    Haven't Found Drivers that are said to be compatibile for HP IV LaserJet

    Thanks in advance for any help you may provide!
    Reboot - that should fix it.

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger zigzag3143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Reboot View Post
    I will be receiving my new Sony Vaio BTO in about a week. This is a rare opportunity to make changes to the OS before I begin loading software. I intend to load Microsoft Office Professional 2007 last, other than that I'm uncertain if there is anything else I should do. Any suggestions?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    LAPTOP DESCRIPTION - VGN-FW590 Configure-to-Order

    Genuine Microsoft® Windows® 7 Ultimate

    Intel® Core&trade 2 Duo Processor P8800 (2.66GHz)
    4GB (2GBx2) DDR2-SDRAM-800
    ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 4650 graphics with 1GB dedicated video RAM
    500GB SATA Hard Disk Drive (5400rpm)
    16.4" VAIO extra-wide HD display (1920x1080)

    Large Capacity Battery (VGP-BPL13)
    Blu-ray Disc™ playback/burning

    Large Capacity Battery (VGP-BPL13)

    Norton Internet Security™ 2009 (3 year subscription)
    No Fresh Start - (decided not to get this)
    Microsoft® Works (wish this didn't come on it - should I remove it first thing?)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    CURRENT SOFTWARE I INTEND TO LOAD (I have checked all of them with Microsoft's Windows Compatibiilty Center to check if they are compatible.)

    Listed in order I intend to load:
    - Drivers for HP 7310 All-In-One LaserJet (Win7 drivers availalbe on HP's site)
    - Microsoft ActiveSync 4.5 (I sync SmartPhone PDA Windows Mobile device with PC)
    - Mobipocket eBook Reader (Mobipocket site says compatible)
    - Guild Wars (users say running well on Win7)
    - Saitek Gaming Pad (USB Peripheral)
    - Microsoft Office Professional 2007

    Haven't Found Drivers that are said to be compatibile for HP IV LaserJet

    Thanks in advance for any help you may provide!

    Hi Reboot and welcome

    Nice laptop you're getting. When you get a new lappy it comes with all the junk The maker thinks will see more laptops. Its often not the best software for its purpose and I always remove it...

    Advise
    Backup, backup, backup. On another site where I post we see scores of people who didn't and wish they did. You can use the built in backup, or get a 3rd party app like acronis. The best one is the one you use.

    You procedure looks fine and I cant see any problems. You are really going to like win 7. I have been using it for a year in various configs and have had only one minor problem. Have fun dig in and if you need help, there is always someone here to give you a hand

    Good Luck Mate


    Ken J+
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

    Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    State of Jefferson, N California, USA
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I would remove works
    You won't need Active Sync; I use Windows Mobile Device Center which is native in Win7 (Vista Also) it will connect up with Active Sync on your devices.
    Your HP IV Laser Jet should work fine I think. I just upgraded a client's PC to 7 and I'm pretty sure that was one of the printers they had and it worked.
    kevin
    --------------------------------------
    ASUS P5Q PRO, Intel Q6600 Core2 Quad CPU, 4GB Corsair RAM, Dual Nvidia 8800GTS Video, Windows 7 64bit

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I have always have left Works on my systems, there seems to always be someone that has it and NOT any of the other word processors. It does NOT take up that much room, but when needed, it is there.

    Get yourself a third party imaging program and a external USB or Firewire drive to but system images to. I use TrueImage from http://www.acronis.com

    You need somthing like "Malwarebytes" from http://www.malwarebytes.org

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
    Another nice backup program (FREE) is Macrium Reflect. The free version permits only full backups while the "Pro" version allows Incremental and Differential backups as well.
    http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    rockville, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Image backup is a real improvement for MS to include it on the Premium versions and above where vista it was only available in the business and ultimate versions.

    but Acronis is a good image backup which the 2010 version works with w7 great.

    MS's image is a bit crude in that it only backs up to the root directory of a drive, or at least, I can't figure out how to do the backup to a directory
    on another drive or directory.

    Rich

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Your security software should be the very first thing--even before going online, then get updates, then the software you listed.

    I've been using the free Comodo firewall (not their anti-virus as it doesn't like my Home Premium setup), and the free Microsoft Security Essentials for anti-virus.

    As for the printer, check the HP site. They have a page that tells which printers have, will have, and won't have Windows 7 software. On the downside to that, I installed the software for the Officejet Pro 8500--and STILL can't print.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Remaining question after reading everyone's feedback: MS image, Acronis 2010 or freebie Macrium Reflect?

    Thanks everyone for your response!

    Ken: You are so right, backup is important. I have a backup for files, but do not have enough backup space to image the entire system. I'll work on that!

    Kevin: Yeah - no ActiveSync! That's great. Although a bit sad as it's one of the few things everyone looks to me for as an expert in helping them to fix their sync :0 I sure hope the HPLJ4 works. It's great for quantity b&w printing.

    DaveA: As long as Works doesn't take up much space I guess it won't hurt to leave it there. Thanks for the referral to Acronis - I'll check it out. I need to buy a bigger external USB HD though. Mine is only 250 gig. I might as well go for a terabyte now so I can include a system image, file backup, and ever growing digi needs.

    Richard: Free - woo hoo. Full back up is all I want for now. I keep two redundant backups and one current at all times. I used to have lots of tapes and kept many backups - I'm over it : ) Thanks for the referral to Macrium Reflect. I'll look into it.

    Rich: I usually partition my HD into 3 partitions, keeping C for program and system files. But this time I'm living on the wild side and going with just a C drive. After all these years of partitioning, I've never had anything goober up the partition it lived in. Now let's hope that stays true going foward! So, since I dont' intend on having another directory I could give MS image a try.

    D: Silly me, I should have listed it in that order so you all would know I intended to do that instead of putting software at the bottom of my list including Norton. I've used Norton for years and watched it become a system hog, granting less versatility to the user, and more - but I know it and it works. I bought another 3 years of it when buying the laptop.

    I looked up drivers for you 8500 and it looks like HP has them for 32 bit adn 64 bit. Did you download them from the HP site?

    32-bit (basic and full feature drivers available): http://tinyurl.com/yd9mn8m
    64-bit (basic and full feature drivers available): http://tinyurl.com/yjp7qm8
    Reboot - that should fix it.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I was just reading my Windows Secrets newsletter and saw this article that describes the benefits of using Win7 imaging feature. It also has a link to a step-by-step how to use it.

    Using Windows' built-in disk-imaging utility by Fred Langa
    Reboot - that should fix it.

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    In all of that, you haven't told us whether you are going to use 32-bit or 64-bit.

    I recommend Acronis backup, installed immediately after security features. I also like to install Office after that, since that is the workhorse and I like to have it in place and set up with a minimum of other programs littering the landscape and the registry (which is something I might point out to the clean registry enthusiasts in another thread). You might even install it first. You can refine it 'till the cows come home, but I like to get it on the computer as early as possible. Works is tiny and no problem, but I hope you got compensation for the free trial of Norton that is probably in the package, if you bought a 3-year subscription.

    I also like to install commercial software first, especially if it is expensive, like Office or Adobe Creative Suite, while keeping an eye on total size. Graphics suites, voice transcription, and OCR programs cost a lot of money. If you have pdf files of big fat textbooks that are susceptible to getting lost, they are tiny in filesize and have a high utility value, and are especially valuable on a laptop.

    If you see the direction I am going, it is to remind you that a backup will include compression, and your first 'gold' backup should be to an archival source, which in your case might be a Blu-Ray disk, so that you will be able to restore the entire computer to an early (and clean) state with your own most expensive software and resources installed. If it ever goes south on you, that backup will be worth a fortune. Creating it is insurance. Intermediate backups can be saved to external hard drive, but with every increase in the value of your software you should keep an eye out for a time when things are running smoothly and then drop everything to make another gold backup to archival media.

    Physical theft is a problem seldom mentioned in The Lounge, but do pause to consider it.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Reboot View Post
    Rich: I usually partition my HD into 3 partitions, keeping C for program and system files. But this time I'm living on the wild side and going with just a C drive. After all these years of partitioning, I've never had anything goober up the partition it lived in. Now let's hope that stays true going foward! So, since I dont' intend on having another directory I could give MS image a try.
    I'd recommend staying with Windows and Programs on C:\ and data on a separate partition - It just makes things easier if you ever want to reinstall the OS.

    After struggling with a sluggish Vista installation I did a reinstall a month or so back, and having my data on a separate partition meant I didn't have to spend hours copying files off the machine before hand and copying them back on afterwards.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'd like to add to the mix here re: Imaging software. First, as DaveA wrote get an external HDD for your backups. Should the native HDD die, your backup will be useless. Newegg.com is a great place to shop for an external enclosure, e.g., Vantec Nexstar models and a HDD. A 500 gig drive should be ideal and usually, since they are so popular, great deals can be found. My recommendation is the Western Digital drives, particularly the "Black" (performance) models. Stay away from the "Green" models. It takes all of 5-10 minutes to assemble the drive into the enclosure.

    And, for backup software, Acronis is very good but you might want to take a serious look at Storagecraft's ShadowProtect Desktop. The BIG advantage of ShadowProtect is that it also has the option to do "Bare Metal Restores", which means you can restore your backup image(s) to a totally different machine rather than being limited to the machine from which the backup "image" was created on. Also, with both Acronis and ShadowProtect, access to the individual folders and files on the backup image is a breeze. For example, should you need to recover a folder/file which you accidentally deleted or that became corrupt, you can quickly grab it from the backup image (copy/paste it to your C:\ drive).

    The "Scheduler" in Acronis True Image and ShadowProtect both offer the option to limit the amount of space utilized by the backups. What this means is that you can designate how many backup images (Full + incrementals) will be retained. When that amount is reached, the oldest is replaced by the newest one created. Not many other backup applications offer these options so you have to manually delete unwanted images to make room in the designated space on a regular basis.
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Peter: I bought the 1080p res so got the 64-bit. Didn't notice a free trial of Norton, just a good price for extended coverage.

    I have LoJack on my car, and thought of getting it on laptop. Other ideas?

    So:
    Install
    (1) Norton
    (2) Acronis vs using MS image....
    (3) Microsoft Office Professional 2007
    (4) Photoshop Elements 7 (decided to put it on although hope it doesn't fight with Media Center. Adobe is as stubborn as MS about getting priority.
    (5) Drivers for HP 7310 All-In-One LaserJet (Win7 drivers available on HP's site)
    (6) Mobipocket eBook Reader
    (7) Guild Wars
    (8) Saitek Gaming Pad

    ---------
    BACKUP
    Peter: I'm a bit confused about how to use Acronis with a Western drive that has it's own software that 'automatically' does it for me. I'm currently using a Maxtor One Touch without the 'auto' software and I just use it as an external drive. Learning curve here

    Pilgrim: I agree, external is the way to go. I like Newegg and have an account. I'll take a look. Do you have any comments on the auto thing (see first paragraph under 'backup' above.

    Oh! Shadow Protect - nice! I didn't even think of that. What if my shiney new laptop croaks - I may want to put my image back onto the replacement! Also, I really like the fact that I can just copy/paste a file.
    -------------
    PARTITION

    G: I decided to partition. I decided with a 500GB HD it will help with faster file access.

    Now that leads me to wonder which partition tool is best to use with Windows 7? Does anybody have experience with EASEUS? http://partition-tool.com/ The free version is only for 32-bit so I'll have to buy it $31.96 for 64-bit.
    Reboot - that should fix it.

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have ShadowProtect as well as Acronis (and too many computers), and the only reason I left it out is that you were considering freeware and I thought you might choke on the price. I haven’t checked it myself, but I can tell you that my single copy cost nearly double the price of Acronis. I paid $110 or $115 here in Canada (plus $15 annual maintenance fee), but it was in part because I had it shipped, where Acronis was straight download. I also have five free copies of Acronis 10 as a result of a one-day promotion (from LapLink) that was discussed here in the Lounge, and they were the ones who sent me the multiple copies, I didn’t try to order them. (Their servers were overloaded, and it was bedlam.) The upgrade from that version is $30. I am still messing around with conversions to Windows 7, and my own final configurations remain uncertain. Some computers are more important than others, and will accordingly get the best software.

    The external drive is fine, but since your computer has Blu-Ray I suggested using that for occasional crucial backups, and especially early in the game when the backup will be small, clean, and valuable. It may be small enough to use DVDs, but you want something that amounts to a clean install, plus your expensive software, in archived form.

    The transition from one backup system to another may or may not be easy, but if you can transfer the contents of the external drive even temporarily, such as to your main computer, you might then re-format the drive (NTFS, if it isn’t already), simply wiping out the existing backup software unless it is needed to restore things (as it probably is, so you had better keep that as well). This will give you a freshly-formatted plug and play drive that is ready to receive backups. It will appear as a hard drive in ‘Computer’, and I suggest you give it a name.

    Software and data are two different things.


  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    State of Jefferson, N California, USA
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As was mentioned b4, there is no need to use a third party partitioning sw since windows has it built in. Just open administrative tools in control panel, computer management, storage, disk management. From there you can create, resize or whatever. Very simple and free.
    kevin
    --------------------------------------
    ASUS P5Q PRO, Intel Q6600 Core2 Quad CPU, 4GB Corsair RAM, Dual Nvidia 8800GTS Video, Windows 7 64bit

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •