Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When I open all programs >Microsoft Office, the programs in the office directory do not stay open long enough for me to click on them.
    If I were THE FLASH, this woud not be a problem, however . . .I need help.

    Ben

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Are you clicking or double clicking?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Only single clicking. Now, when I try to rename a file, the menu does not stay open long enough
    to click on anything.

    Ben

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rename is in the right click of a file, what does it have to do with the Start menu?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    State of Jefferson, N California, USA
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That is a strange problem and seems to me that it is related to your mouse settings somehow. Try changing the speed of the double click and see if that helps. If it's a wireless mouse maybe your cordless phone is too close or something; I've seen that issue rarely.
    kevin
    --------------------------------------
    ASUS P5Q PRO, Intel Q6600 Core2 Quad CPU, 4GB Corsair RAM, Dual Nvidia 8800GTS Video, Windows 7 64bit

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    From the start - I click on the round Windows icon, bottom left, the menu opens.
    I single click on let's say Accessories, that opens up with all the programs, but brfore
    I can double click or even single click, the menu shuts down. Does anyone know where
    to set this speed or delay or whatever Microsoft calls it?

    Thanks,

    Ben

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I do NOT use single click, so I hope some other single clicker can hop in here with some help.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    State of Jefferson, N California, USA
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm a single clicker I think but anyway, when I do exactly as you say the menu will stay open until I click something. I really think it's a problem with your mouse and not necessarily the settings. Try using a different mouse or eliminate interference from cordless phone or ?? if it's a cordless one.
    kevin
    --------------------------------------
    ASUS P5Q PRO, Intel Q6600 Core2 Quad CPU, 4GB Corsair RAM, Dual Nvidia 8800GTS Video, Windows 7 64bit

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's not the mouse cause the same thing happens when I remove the mouse and use the touch pad.
    Also happens when I use the keyboard.

    No cell phone or wireless phones within 20 feet.

    Ben

  10. #10
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    That sounds like something is stealing focus before you can do anything, what background/Startup applications are running, Ben?

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    you didn't list your computer specs, but my laptop will sometime jump like that because I'm pressing too hard with my palms. I'll try to find the tweaking program I used to change the response time (delay) that opening list boxes, etc use. It might make it less jumpy.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Searched the registry for submenues, menudelay, list boxes. Did not find anything.
    Would anyone know what the registry enry is for changing these settings?

    Ben

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •