Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I can open Outlook, but when I choose a menu item, it drops down and everything freezes. Have to go to task manager
    to shut it down. I did not change any settings. Any assistance is appreciated.

    Ben

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Welch View Post
    I can open Outlook, but when I choose a menu item, it drops down and everything freezes.
    I'm trying to think of a way for you to run Help > Detect & Repair if you can't use the menus. I suppose you could use the Office installer (or Outlook installer, if it was acquired separately) in the Add/Remove programs control panel to run a repair installation. I believe you need to close all Office applications first. Does that help?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    You could try renaming outcmd.dat, extend.dat, views.dat and frmcache.dat - Outlook will create new versions of these if they can't be found and this often makes weird Outlook problems go away.

    See this article for locations of these files.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, I'll give 'em both a try. I think I read somewhere the RSS may be the problem.

    Ben

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Welch View Post
    Thanks, I'll give 'em both a try. I think I read somewhere the RSS may be the problem.
    See Outlook 2007: Remove or Disable RSS Feed Support | Microsoft Office | Tech-Recipes. Also, check Outlook addins.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ben,

    One thing you can try is to open Outlook in safe mode. Per Microsoft's site you can try the following:

    1. Click Start, point to All Programs, and then point to Microsoft Office.
    2. Press and hold the CTRL key, and then click the name of the Microsoft Office program that you want to run.

    OR

    At the command prompt, use the /safe option when you start the program.
    ie. outlook.exe /safe

    After running in safe mode do you get the same result?
    Tony Shoemaker

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •