Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In Excel 2007, I usually save as .XLS since many of those to whom I send spreadsheets use Excel 2003 or earlier.
    On every save, I am prompted about converting to the newer format, to which I have to answer No.
    Is there a configuration setting that I've not yet found that will suppress this annoying prompt and just do what I ask?

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I wasn't able to recreate this but you can try
    Click office button
    Choose excel options
    select save
    change the save files to "excel 97-2003 workbook (*.xls)
    "Campaigns to bear-proof all garbage containers in wild areas have been difficult because, as
    one biologist put it, `There is a considerable overlap between the intelligence levels of the
    smartest bears and the dumbest tourists.'
    Richard Wabrek

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Further to Steve Ammon's reply here is his example with imaged instructions : How to Geek
    Jerry

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts
    Are you referring to the compatibility check by any chance? If so there is an option in the dialog to turn it off for each workbook. There may be a registry setting to turn it off globally, but I haven't come across it yet.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your replies. For convenience, I had already set the default format as suggested.
    But your "can't recreate" comments lead me to wonder if it only occurs when saving password-encrypted spreadsheets, which the ones I update are since we exchange them via email.
    What I'd like to eliminate, if possible, is being prompted at every save to convert to the newer "more secure" format.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •