Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I currently have my main desktop set up ad a dual boot, with XP pro and Win 7 RC on separate HDDs. Woody has mentioned the install over itself procedure in his column several times an I wonder if anyone has successfully done this over a RC version of Windows 7, or will I have to format the drive and reinstall. If the second will I still be able to dual boot the system?
    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Withyham, Sussex, England
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I had a RC on my laptop and successfully upgraded to ultimate with no issues. I don't know about dual boot as I don't have this config.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Poquoson, Virginia,USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I installed Virtual XP over my Win7 Ultimate (64 bits) last week (12/2/09) and it works quite well with my legacy apps. I have trouble getting it to recognize external hardware, especially my Zen Plus mp3 player. I am still working on getting my external devices installed on Virtual XP.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello,
    I used my Windows 7 Home Premium Update 64bit DVD to update my Windows 7 RC
    on my Dual boot (Windows 7 / Windows Vista Business) on my HP Business 64 bit laptop.

    I have experienced no problems with it.

    Mike the mod @ vista_ & Win7
    http://ca.groups.yahoo.com/group/vista_/
    http://ca.groups.yahoo.com/group/Win7/

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Murray View Post
    I currently have my main desktop set up ad a dual boot, with XP pro and Win 7 RC on separate HDDs. Woody has mentioned the install over itself procedure in his column several times an I wonder if anyone has successfully done this over a RC version of Windows 7, or will I have to format the drive and reinstall. If the second will I still be able to dual boot the system?
    Any suggestions?
    See Paul Thurrott's SuperSite for Windows: Windows 7 Upgrade Scenarios: Scenario 4: Upgrade from the Windows 7 RC to the Final Version.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I have 3 PCs (2 laptops 1 desktop) All had Win7 RC installed, one with a dual boot Vista. I used a Windows 7 upgrade version ( 1 ultimate and 2 home premium) to update all three. I elliminated the vista partition on the dual boot PC. In all three cases the Win 7 upgrade versions clean installed over the existing Win 7 RC with no problems what so ever. In fact after clean installing, there is a folder created called windows.old. You can open this folder and drag everything you want to save directly into the new OS (favorites, contacts, documents, pics, music, etc) Once you drag everything you want from the windows.old folder, you can delete the folder to free some space (the folder has a fairly large size). Good luck, you should not have any problems. Have fun.
    Ted
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    san diego
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    JOE, MANY THANKS FOR THE POINTER TO PAUL'S SITE. THE INFO THERE WORKED PERFECTLY.
    HAVE A GREAT HOLIDAY SEASON.

    Michael

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FLITTERMAN View Post
    JOE, MANY THANKS FOR THE POINTER TO PAUL'S SITE. THE INFO THERE WORKED PERFECTLY.
    HAVE A GREAT HOLIDAY SEASON.
    Welcome to the Lounge!!

    You're welcome. Glad it worked out for you. Thanks for posting back.

    Just a note for future postings. A post in capital letters is considered shouting. So, please keep it to a lower level.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    I discovered in fact, although I knew already, that you can't install Windows 7 Pro RTM on top of Windows 7 Ultimate RC. Pleasingly, you had to do an install 'from scratch', which went very well...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Actually folks if you copy the relevant RTM disk to say your desktop and edit one file, you can pretty much install any version on top of another. When you upgrade, there is a file on the RTM disk which contains a version number..that version number is compared to the version you have on your computer. Logically, change the version being looked for to a lower version than the one being installed and viola..the upgrade option which is normally blackened out reappears. This was relevant for me since I was upgrading both of my 7RC computers to 7Ultimate. The same tweak is relevant if you have an ultimate disk and want to load a downlevel version. This was also true for the Vista disks. So basically "cannot" upgrade from
    A to B in terms of 7 or Vista disks is really a statement of "cannot without copying the disk, editing a file, and then either running it from the copy folder or converting that folder to .iso and using magicdisc or some other iso mounting program to run it". The idea that I was going to lose all my personal files and programs just because I had upgraded my Vista Ultimate to 7RC was rather insane and I think that is why Microsoft has left this tweak which is pretty well known around the Internet. I am somewhat surprised as I go through the lounge that several people keep saying you CAN"T do various upgrades, suggesting they don't know the tweak which has been on My Digital Life forever. And all of this is legal, you have a license for your version, you just want to save you stuff. Why Microsoft disables something people need when they bought the software is beyond me..Now this does not apply for 32 bit to 64 or vice versa but pretty much anything 32 to 32 is possible. Just got to do a little prep work on some files.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •