New Lounger
    Thanks
    I realize it's rude to introduce oneself with a hand stuck out palm up, but...

I'm obviously new to the site, found my way here via my Windows Secrets subscription. I'm also a veteran programmer, dating back to Pascal, dBase/Clipper, Cobol, C++, etc... although I haven't done much beyond batch files and spreadsheets in the past few years. I was recently asked to help set up a database to track equipment issues, and find myself staring at the shiny spinning mirror that is "Access 2003" and wondering how to catch up. Any advice on a good place to start?

Here are the basics of what I'm trying to do:

Table of people (id# as key)
    Table of equipment (stock# as key)

A third table has been created from the first two to track the items issued to each individual; I've gotten past setting up the relationships among the three, but getting the forms to work properly together is wearing me out. The ultimate goal is to provide a drop in solution to folks who probably aren't willing or able to do more than enter data into a form. Subforms seem to be the right way to go, but the underlying data obviously needs manual editing, and I can't seem to find a good stepping off point to learn these basics.

So... any good tutorials out there? Thanks!

--- Addendum ---
    Still browsing the forums for information, just ordered a copy of "Building Microsoft® Access Applications". Other suggestions still invited and welcomed!

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan Murray View Post
    Subforms seem to be the right way to go, but the underlying data obviously needs manual editing, and I can't seem to find a good stepping off point to learn these basics.
    Happy to see you here!

So, I'm thinking from your description you want to design a form similar to this:[attachment=87078:Form.png]