Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi.... responding to a prompt from Secunia saying there were unsecure programs on my system I allowed the changes but it seems one was an update for Outlook Express which in my opinion [despite having loads more options which I don't want] does not appeal to me so I performed a System Restore and thankfully got the original back. Adding a link in an email using the original one was dead easy so I decided to do the same using the updated one (sending one to myself to see if the link worked) & discovered - thought the cursor changes to a hand when hovered over it - the site it pointed to would not open. The only way to so do was to copy and paste the URL into my browser. Just now when I booted up I got the attached prompt, what does it relate to and which option should I click on please.? Regards Dave.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    You should allow this one, it wants to refresh the used copy of the Application Compatibility database from the one on disk.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by StuartR View Post
    You should allow this one, it wants to refresh the used copy of the Application Compatibility database from the one on disk.

    Thanks Stuart.... good to know there is the offer of a green light when doubt is in one's mind.... Just noticed when I ran Secunia there were two warnings about(what to me, looked like the same update that was required) why the duplication. Regards Dave.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    PS.... since performing the System Restore I get the attached prompt, what does it imply and what shoudl I do please? Thanks dave.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Silver Fox View Post
    ... Just noticed when I ran Secunia there were two warnings about(what to me, looked like the same update that was required) why the duplication...
    If you expand the entries under Secunia it will tell you where it found them. My guess is that one is the ActiveX flash add on for IE8 and the other is the version that is used with all other browsers. But it might be that one is a downloaded file that you have somewhere on your disk and the other is the installed copy.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Silver Fox View Post
    PS.... since performing the System Restore I get the attached prompt, what does it imply and what shoudl I do please? Thanks dave.
    You reported the same error in September, in the thread Application Error Message.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HansV View Post
    You reported the same error in September, in the thread Application Error Message.
    Thanks gents.... seems the last comment of the post you pointed me to Hans turned out to be more than just a possibility. .... "It has returned" & yes, since performing a recent Microsoft update I have started to get the message again telling me the copy of windows I have installed is not genuine.... what are these meddling geeks doing at Microsoft... as if we novices don't have enough problems without them eccentuating them. Sorry about asking the same question again, just shows how shallow my memory is. Thanks anyway. Dave.
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •