Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Windows 7 Home Premium, 6.17600. I'm logged into the only user account on my home desktop computer.

    I get this message when I try to enable gadgets on my desktop:
    Settings.ini is being used by another process. Close the other program and click Retry, or click Cancel to exit. It has been like this since I installed 7.

    I have read threads with others having this problem, but none have really been answered. Can anybody suggest what to do?

    Thanks,
    Rusty

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rusty K View Post
    Windows 7 Home Premium, 6.17600. I'm logged into the only user account on my home desktop computer.

    I get this message when I try to enable gadgets on my desktop:
    Settings.ini is being used by another process. Close the other program and click Retry, or click Cancel to exit. It has been like this since I installed 7.

    I have read threads with others having this problem, but none have really been answered. Can anybody suggest what to do?
    If this happens immediately after you boot the system, use a tool such as the free Autoruns for Windows to see what is start when you boot. You can post a screenshot of the logon tab.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    If this happens immediately after you boot the system, use a tool such as the free Autoruns for Windows to see what is start when you boot. You can post a screenshot of the logon tab.

    Joe
    It happens whenever I click desktop > enable gadgets, regardless of how long I've been booted and logged on. I can find no reference to settings.ini in autoruns, but Sidebar is enabled.
    [attachment=87099:gadgets.PNG]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Rusty K View Post
    It happens whenever I click desktop > enable gadgets, regardless of how long I've been booted and logged on. I can find no reference to settings.ini in autoruns, but Sidebar is enabled.
    [attachment=87099:gadgets.PNG]
    This more than likely won't solve the problem but it might enable you to do a little detective work. BTW, there are THREE settings.ini files in my Win7 partition, but two look like templates with only a header line in them. The one in App Data folder of my user profile seems to be the one with the stuff about which gadgets I have enabled.

    Why don't you rename that file to something like settings.iii and reboot your machine to see if some piece of software complains about its absence. Of course, the mysterious culprit might re-create the file but I don't know what else to try.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    WIN 7 64 bit Home Premium - admin only user.

    I have 4 gadgets on my desktop.

    Calendar
    Clock
    Weather
    System Info

    I have 2 settings.ini files on my boot drive
    C:\ProgramFiles\(x86)\Windows Sidebar
    C:\ProgramFiles\\Windows Sidebar

    Each contains the same 2 lines

    [Root]
    SettingsVersion=00.00.00.02

    So maybe these don't control what gadgets are installed to the desktop?

    Regards

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rusty K View Post
    It happens whenever I click desktop > enable gadgets, regardless of how long I've been booted and logged on. I can find no reference to settings.ini in autoruns, but Sidebar is enabled.
    I was not expecting to see a reference to settings.ini. I wanted to see what programs were started when you boot the system. If sidebar.exe is running gadgets are already enabled. All you to do is use the Gadgets dialog and add the one you want.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan Wetton View Post
    Each contains the same 2 lines

    [Root]
    SettingsVersion=00.00.00.02

    So maybe these don't control what gadgets are installed to the desktop?
    I don't think those are the files where your gadgets are setup. Mine is in H:\Users\Bigal\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Sidebar (H: is my Win 7 partition)

    Since I have a few of the gadgets running, the attached text file shows what my file contains.

    [attachment=87106:My Settings File.txt]
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I appreciate the interest. I ran a search for settings.ini and found 8 of them. I'll try to look into it today and get back with what ever I find. Saturdays are getting busy around the house this time of year, so I have to cut back on my computer tinkering, lest I get thrashed by the wife.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here is a screenshot of my Logon tab in Autoruns:

    [attachment=87119:logon.PNG]

    Here is an example of one of my 8 ini files: "C:\Documents and Settings\Rusty\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Sidebar":

    [Root]
    SettingsVersion="00.00.00.01"
    SidebarShowState="Exploded"
    SidebarDockedPartsOrder="0x1,0x2,"
    SidebarAutoStart="false"
    SidebarDockedPartsPage1="2"
    OneTimeRemoveGadgetMessageShown="true"
    PickerPosX="233"
    PickerPosY="202"
    SidebarDockSide="2"
    SidebarAlwaysOnTop="true"
    SidebarDockMonitor="0"
    OneTimeHideMessageShown="true"
    OneTimeCloseLastDockedMessageShown="true"
    OneTimeExitMessageShown="true"
    Section0="1"
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Okay, guess what...
    I unticked "Sidebar" in Autoruns logon tab, re-booted, and gadgets now work. I do not know why; I would like to know, but I'll take it.

    Thanks for helping me get pointed in the right direction, guys.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ....But now it fails to install gadgets downloaded from the Microsoft gadgets (apparently all open source) website, and gives a message: "Invalid gadget file." Any ideas about that?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •