Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I decided to restore my Gateway laptop to factory settings using the restore partition (d:\). I could not find instructions, so I visited the manufacturer's support site and chatted live with a support person.

    They sent me instructions that tell me to begin by clicking Start >> All Programs >> Gateway. Trouble is, I do not see "Gateway" in the list of programs. The name does not appear even once. I explained that to the techie, who told me the recovery partition might be corrupt and the fix is to purchase a Vista recovery CD from Gateway. Price: $19.95 plus S&H.

    Does that sound like it's all on the level? Maybe I should just replace Vista with Win 7.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Go to Start, Right click Computer and select Manage, then click on Disk Management.
    There you should see all of the partitions of your hard drive, If you do NOT see the restore partition, it could be the D drive or a "Hidden" unlabeled drive, then you are missing the recover partition.
    You will need to get some CD/DVDs from Gateway to recover your system.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Oh, the drive is there, all right. I just can't start the system recovery process. So you think I'm stuck buying the recovery disk(s)? (Or going to Win7...?)

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Yes, you are going to have to buy a set of DVDs. If the machine is worth it, get Windows 7.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I see you're running Win7. Did you install it over Vista, or did you get a new machine? If you installed it yourself, did you have any problems? Did you do a clean install, or did you install it over the old OS?

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Have you looked in your Program files folder, C:>Program Files> Gateway, to see if the folder is there and what might be inside the folder ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Good question, Doc. I'd not thought to look there. Too bad, though—it's missing from the Programs folder. There's nothing with the Gateway name anywhere.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Caesar3 View Post
    Good question, Doc. I'd not thought to look there. Too bad, though—it's missing from the Programs folder. There's nothing with the Gateway name anywhere.
    Sounds like some one did a clean install with a "Retail" CD/DVD!

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveA View Post
    Sounds like some one did a clean install with a "Retail" CD/DVD!
    As a matter of fact, a couple of years ago I had a little mishap with this machine that required me to return it to Gateway for repair. The factory replaced the motherboard, hard drive, and I don't know what else. I've no way now to know whether the Gateway programs were present when it returned from the factory. I personally have never messed with the factory-installed software.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Caesar3 View Post
    As a matter of fact, a couple of years ago I had a little mishap with this machine that required me to return it to Gateway for repair. The factory replaced the motherboard, hard drive, and I don't know what else. I've no way now to know whether the Gateway programs were present when it returned from the factory. I personally have never messed with the factory-installed software.
    That seems as though you might have a basis for further "discussion" with Gateway. If they repaired your system and did not provide you a way to get to the repair partition you should ask to talk to a supervisor at customer service. Gateway should have a record of the service. They should do something to rectify the situation as they caused it.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Some Gateway machines have recovery stuff in a folder named "Acer".

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Another option is to use the Vista Recovery CD that Microsoft supplies. Neosmart hosts copies of both the 32 and 64 bit versions, as well as the Windows 7 version. The page is located at http://neosmart.net/...-disc-download/

    If your recovery partition is intact, the appropriate disk for your OS should allow you to access it.
    Hope this helps.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Phoenix Arizona
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just a quick add on. Before you install Win 7 on an older gateway, be sure to run their free Win 7 tool. It will tell you what hardware and software
    will be effected by it. I've heard from most of my website visitors that the most common problems are with older video and sound cards. On some systems, the tool will even tell you that you will need a special installation process and will have to reinstall all of your software.
    I get several dozen questions both on my site and my tech forum each week from users that have blindly installed Win 7 and are now seeking help. Always better to research before diving in.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Caesar3 View Post
    I see you're running Win7. Did you install it over Vista, or did you get a new machine? If you installed it yourself, did you have any problems? Did you do a clean install, or did you install it over the old OS?

    I updated a total of 5 PCs a combination of desktops, laptops, 64 bit 32 bit. Clean install on all. With in place upgrade, any problems already in the OS could be carried over to the new OS. My belief is that is you are going to install a new OS, start with a pristine new installation, which means to Clean Install!!!

    You can use the Upgrade Media to clean install, you do not need the full install media, so save a few bucks. Run the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor before attempting the upgrade.

    Paul Thurrott's web site has great tips on how to do the clean install and many other tips.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Phoenix Arizona
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have to agree with Ted Myers.
    There are tons of Gateway units out there with the restore partition in place. If you have the cd, then it should reinstall with no problems providing
    the restore partition is there and intact.

    However, I've redone the OS on hundreds of units over the years. Although for the casual user, and those end-users that don't have a great deal of
    experience in areas like formatting, partitioning, and installing chipsets, drivers, and an OS, the recovery partition was a great benefit. On my own
    units, and most of the one's I've had to redo, nothing is better than a clean install on a pristine hard drive. If you already have problems with any
    of your driver files, or your OS required files, then a redo may very well carry those problems over to your new install.

    I always prefer a good format on the hard drive, wipe it clean, install a new partion, or several if that is to your taste. Then reinstall your OS.
    Next, do your chipset driver before any other drivers are installed. Once this is done, updating any drivers that are missing, or need updating is
    a relatively minor job.

    Most restore programs revert the unit back to the way it shipped from the factory. And we all know what that means. Usually a bunch of outdated
    applications, or trial programs that you probably don't use or need anyway.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •