Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Saxonburg,PA,USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Win98 had a useful utility called Fdisk that would make logical drives, partition,set active, etc. Anything in Vista that can be put on a bootable CD that is as simple. My win98 floppy only recognizes about 129G. Thanks. First timer, don't know if I did this correctly.

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Mankato, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Fetz:

    According to Microsoft, there is no fdisk in Vista. That page has options for formatting and partitioning drives, however.

    If you're using a factory-installed version of Vista, I don't know how you might fdisk /mbr, which is the most common use for fdisk these days, I think.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toledo
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You can make a disk from this that will do it.
    http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

    I dont have a Vista disk handy but if I recall you can go into the recovery console and use diskpart to make a partition and then it will ask if you want to format.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As mentioned in the link, posted by Timothy, you can use the Windows installation disk for these tasks, choosing Custom installation, "Drive options (advanced)".

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hard to use the Windows installation disk when your laptop has an OEM Vista on it. They don't give you a disk any more.

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Mankato, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    movrshakr:
    Quote Originally Posted by movrshakr View Post
    Hard to use the Windows installation disk when your laptop has an OEM Vista on it. They don't give you a disk any more.
    I'll make the easy assumption that this means you don't have such a disk.

    In that case, Pat Mcgroin's answer seems to me to be your best bet.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by movrshakr View Post
    Hard to use the Windows installation disk when your laptop has an OEM Vista on it. They don't give you a disk any more.
    Well, it was a comment based on the information from the OP in this thread.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toledo
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Depending on the system, some will allow the creation of user disks.
    It would depend on the particualr machine.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If the Vista desktop is present, then you can use the Computer Management MMC, a graphical program that does the same thing as FDISK.
    To begin, right-click on the Computer icon (desktop, explorer window, etc.), then select Manage. (enter the administrator password - if prompted)

    When the Computer Management window appears, click on Disk Management (left column below Storage), then you will see all of your drives and partitions (right windows). You can right-click on a drive with empty space to create a new partition. Lots of other options are available. Due caution is strongly suggested, as you can delete your existing data/partitions/volumes.

    If Vista has not been installed, then downloading a boot disk (as was mentioned in a prior post) that contains FDISK would work well.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Saxonburg,PA,USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Was away for a few days. Thanks for all your suggestions. Will try them all. OEM version on separate partition, but I made data DVD copy(3 disks). Have a 500G disk that I tried to format on a 10 year old motherboard with win2000. That computer would only see 129G. Motherboard issues?(48 bit limitations?). You gave me lots of ideas to experiment with on the Vista computer. Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •