Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hello once again,

    I have a text form field in a word document that I would like repeated in other locations of the document.
    In other words if I type "Meow" in the form field at the top of the document I would like "Meow" to show up
    automatically in other locations of the document that I have predetermined.

    Please see my attached document called: formfieldtest.doc

    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Time can fix anything.....even a broken clock. - Handy Andy

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Your text formfield has a bookmark, you can see the name of this bookmark by double clicking on the formfield - in this case it is Text1. You could change this to a more meaningful name if you want.

    Where you want to repeat the text you can put a REF field, such as { REF "Text1" }.

    I have also set the "calculate on exit" property of the formfield so that it automatically updates the references when you change the value.

    [attachment=87153:formfieldtest.doc]
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    While the document is unprotected, double-click the form field.
    Tick the check box "Calculate on exit".
    Note the bookmark name - in this example Text1.
    Click OK.
    Place the insertion point where you want a copy of the text.
    Press Ctrl+F9 to insert field braces { } (don't type { } yourself, that won't work).
    Type REF Text1 where Text1 is the bookmark name you noted above.
    Press F9 to hide the field codes and update the field.
    Repeat as needed in other locations.
    Protect the document for forms.
    When you type something in the form field and press Tab, the REF fields will be updated automatically.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks guys. And thank you HansV for your well put instructions.
    Time can fix anything.....even a broken clock. - Handy Andy

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    One more thing one this....
    I understand that the REF fields will change when you tab away, or when you exit the document.
    I would like the REF fields to change upon pressing a submit button, and I would want the
    document to to remain unchanged when I close it.

    Is this possible?
    Thanks again.
    Time can fix anything.....even a broken clock. - Handy Andy

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    That would require VBA, I think it's better not to go there...

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I'll take your word for it.
    Thanks and Regards,
    Handy Andy
    Time can fix anything.....even a broken clock. - Handy Andy

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sheffield
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HandyAndy View Post
    One more thing one this....
    I understand that the REF fields will change when you tab away, or when you exit the document.
    I would like the REF fields to change upon pressing a submit button, and I would want the
    document to to remain unchanged when I close it.

    Is this possible?
    Thanks again.
    Would it work if you set the document up as a template and saved the templated document?

    Alternatively you could use fillin fields, though you would have to set these up to fill in on open. the text would then be inserted, but you would have a kind of database entry system rather than a drop down list within the document.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Is there a way to make this work in an unprotected document?
    Time can fix anything.....even a broken clock. - Handy Andy

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Form fields only work in a document protected for forms. You can, however, divide the document into sections by inserting section breaks. You can then specify which sections of the document will be protected. The user can freely edit the text in unprotected sections.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •