Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Poway, California, USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have an original copy of windows 95, I later purchased a windows 2000 upgrade. Can these be upgraded to windows 7 or do I need to purchase a full version?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,379
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Willcox View Post
    I have an original copy of windows 95, I later purchased a windows 2000 upgrade. Can these be upgraded to windows 7 or do I need to purchase a full version?
    Only XP & Vista qualify for upgrade pricing.

    Joe

  4. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    But you can install the upgrade version as a new installation.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Arriving Somewhere but not Here
    Posts
    698
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I take it you aren't proposing to try and run Win 7 on hardware originally running Win 95/upgraded to Win 2000?

    stuck

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I agree with "Stuck", the hardware is most likely not supported by Windows 7.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #6
    New Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    I suspect if he succeeded in deleting a few OS files and installing Windows7 -- his PC will not run W7 as he supposes.
    My history of trying a few applications [and/or utilities] has me "redacting" back to a previously Ghosted-image and installing an older application or utility version.
    Roland
    You cannot light or brighten your candle by extinguishing others.
    Roland & Mildred Stoller [ATM-G @ TMI]
    College Cafe - http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/
    RMS LinkedIn - http://www.linkedin.com/home
    RMS & CoIC Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/roland.stoller.58
    RMS & CoIC Twitter - http://twitter.com/RolandStoller
    collegecafe.10.forumer.com - discontinued on forumer 1/2013

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •